We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View - even better people watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome View - even better people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Recently stayed as a guest of some time share holders and was completely blown away by the ambiance of this resort. I was thrilled to find a panoramic view of the ocean from each of the two bedrooms, kitchen, and both balconies. Though I have traveled frequently and have enjoyed more than my share of fine hotel rooms - I was awed by the stunning views of this particular property and the surrounding pier.

As an Interior Designer I felt that though the furnishings were nicely placed, there could have been a little better quality in materials - as well as construction finishes.
On the other hand, the bathrooms were completely indulgent and I loved taking a jacuzzi bath with all the wonderful lotions and soaps that were at my disposal.
The lighting was well configured - the kitchen well equipped - and the overall experience top notch.

Cafe 333 is in the same building on the first floor and offers a very enticing Martini and appetizer happy hour - a perfect diversion for the single person traveling alone.

I would highly recommend this property to locals as well as those traveling internationally since Oceanside is a perfect 25 mile beach drive to both San Diego and Laguna.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    128
    49
    26
    22
See reviews for
195
106
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very nice property ... modern, quite new. Location is great. Lots to do on the beach as well as wander down the pier. Two minute walk to "downtown" Oceanside. Reasonable collection of restaurants and bars. Thursday night street festival was great.

Train noise was a bit of a problem -- I was located in south-west corner of hotel. I got used to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband, I and our 3 teens stayed in a 2 bedroom for 3 nights in July. We really enjoyed the hotel and will defintiely be back!

I only gave hotel service 4 stars because they are very pushy about the timeshare presentation.

The condition/maintenance of the hotel seemed to be very good until the final night/morning. A horrible smell came into the room and the surrounding area which made us ill. It turned out to be a problem with their grease trap.

We spent most of our time at the beach, the kids took surf lessons right across the street.

It would have been convenient of the hotel offered boogie boards and beach chairs the way other beachfront hotels we have stayed at have offered, but we rented them on the beach instead.

We heard the train, but it never woke us up or bothered us at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you like train air horns every 20 minutes as well as the roar of passenger and freight trains 24/7 outside your window, then this is the place for you! As an added bonus, the hotel is located squarely between two intersections and within earshot of a third so you also hear the clanging of three intersection warning bells, in addition to the blaring horn, as the train passes each street.

But wait there’s more! If you want to park, hotel guests are treated as pigeons to be plucked of their precious time and money. After paying $250 or more a night, hotel guests are sent back and forth between counters to a salesman disguised as a concierge who only wants to sell time shares and not issue a parking pass until he brow beats you as best he can. He was rude one moment and then sickly obsequious the next. “But we’ll give you a free breakfast and a $75 gift American Gift Certificate you can spend anywhere just for listening to a 90 minute presentation.” For reference, this is the fellow at the south tower vacation counter on July 31, 2011 who worked a shift ending around 6 pm. What a piece of work! Even my 16 and 17 year olds thought he was a discredit to his employer.

Oh, here is the best part of the whole Wyndham experience: NOTHING is disclosed about the trains right out your window on the web site, or in the reservation process or in the reservation confirmation. Wyndham even bills your credit card the full amount of your stay BEFORE your stay. Over $1,000 in our case. (I guess in case you find out about the trains.) It gets better. We were supposed to receive a confirmation LETTER before our stay that discloses the train with the words “City View” and “train station two blocks away.” “City View,” I was told by the manager, equals “Train outside your window.” Or “City View = Train” in Wyndham Speak. Makes perfect sense now that they explained it.

The manager also told me that the train is disclosed on the web site. Not so. Take a look for yourself at: http://www.wyndhamoceansidepier.com The web site says only:“Transportation couldn't be easier with the Oceanside train depot two blocks away providing service to San Diego and Los Angeles.” Apparently, in Wyndham Speak, that means “trains right outside you window 24/7.” But here is the thing, Wyndham is even dishonest about the station location: the train station is about a third of a block from the hotel and the train tracks are a stone’s throw from the rooms. That a look for yourself in the pics I posted. But more to the point, it says nothing about the train that travels next to your room.


We were noticed of the train after check in when we found four sets of earplugs on our night stand together with a picture card of a train with the salutation “Happy Vacationing!” I’ll post that later. We later saw a large bowl of earplugs in the lobby. Then we heard the trains, again and again and again. Endlessly spoiling our vacation. Bottom line: Wyndham had no alternate space, no apology and it shamelessly took no responsibility for its failure to disclose a material fact that guests should be told. This is called Consumer Fraud.

Here is something else Wyndham does not tell you: seaside rooms are not available to hotel guests. Ever. No wonder the Concierge treated us like passengers from steerage: it is Wyndham policy that hotels guests are. Back of the bus sort of thing. Almost wrote “back of the resort,” but “resort” is certainly a misnomer for this place.

Well it was not a total loss. Here is the two redeeming features of our Wyndham adventure: first, there is never a charge for the earplugs (that don’t work anyway); and second, it had the single nicest bathroom we have had anywhere. A spacious spa-like room as large as the living room with beautiful decor with both a shower and jumbo two-person sized whirlpool tub. Thank you Wyndham for that bathroom. You gave me a beautiful, restful and quiet place to escape the roar of the trains and their blaring horns.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great location for hitting the beach and fishing off the pier. The Bad; trains run adjacent to the property at all hours and sound horns as the near intersections. Although they arent allowed to sound horns after certain hours they still do. Also the showers have low flow shower heads installled that keeps water pressure low. I commend Wyndham for thinking green, but these heads dont save water since you spend more time in the shower. The coffee shop (starbucks) is only open on Friday through Sunday. We did not eat at the other restaurant. Service by staff was great. Most notibly was Marvin. Nice job young man.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, new jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and 2 kids(26 & 30) decided to take a vafmily vacation to the west coast since we have never been out here before. We are Wyndham owners. We wanted to stay by the beach since we are only 6 miles from the beach in New Jersey. This resort was perfect because in was directly across the street from the beach, new (only 4 years old) and easy access to all areas. The positive on this resort , clean, new greast location, friendly staff, free parking below, room was available when we arrived at 4:30pm. We did decide to go on the resort tour and let me tell you it was the easist $75 I received. Lasted only 45 minutes. What else could you ask for, $75 plus free breakfast. Don't worry about the train horns. We really did not hear that they were too load. Guess it depends what room your are in. We were in room 419 which was in the interior part of the building with a pool and ocean view. Oh yeh this was in the South tower. We did do alot of touring sine we were never on the west coast before. LA city cites tour on a double decker bus, San diego tour on a trolley, La Jolla (took a car ride and weent to the cliffs at the ocean, what a place and views) San Diego Zoo. We chose these tours company because the were many stops and you could get off at any stop and spend as much time as you wanted there. Great places to eat THE HUNTER HOUSE on Vista Ave and PACIFIC333 at the resort. Don't know how there were negative reviews about this resort. Nice town Dairy Queen only a 5 minute walk with plent of little places to eat. Keep in mind this is somewhat of a military town and you will see alot of Marines here. There were no problems that we saw here. Everyone was friendly eave those we had to ask directions when we got lost in our rent a car. Weather was great. Couldy each morning to about 10am the beautiful blue skies in the 70's. If you decide to vome here suggest staying away from the monts of May and June. The locals call it MAY GRAY and JUNE GLOOM. Overall it was great and would come back again.

Room Tip: Just reust a room with a pool and ocean view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

~~Our family of 4 arrived in the wee hours of the morning. Everything in Oceanside was quiet & we were worried that we might not find anyone at the front desk. Fortunately, the desk was staffed with 2 welcoming women that got us situated promptly.
My initial reaction at 4 AM was that our 2 BR unit was small. But the beds were comfy & we woke up to the glorious sunshine & weather SanDiego is known for.
~~In the light of day, it was a spectacular unit! Beautiful, high-end, design & furnishings. While a tad small, it was very comfortable and efficient. We had a terrace that gave us an ocien view, yet the unit was not "ocean front" -- not a problem, as there are spacious top floor lounges in each tower that provide inspiring ocean front views.
~~Our teens were bummed that none of the units have twin beds (the 2nd BR is a queen) - but there was also a pull out sofa.
~~Proximity to the ocean was ideal. Since we flew to San Diego, we were happy to rent beach chairs and umbrellas from the Wyndham's activity center. The waves were perfect for body boards (another rental item from Asylum sports, just up the street).
~~ The Oceanside Pier is accross the street from the Wyndham - offering glorious sunsets, fishing (if one wanted to), and Ruby's restaurant at the end of the pier.
~~ Ruby's was great for affordable breakfast, lunch & dinners - during our week in Oceanside we ate there a few times. (they also offer takeout).
~~The grounds of the resort are bright and lovely. A pool overlooking the ocean is a nice option when you don't want to deal with sand. Well equiped fitness center. Easy walk to the "strip" in Oceanside - for more great food. (there is a diner up the street, on a corner, with an 80's theme --- it is delicious).
~~Our Oceanside week was one of the best vacation spots we've experienced. The great unit, combined with perfect weather, left all our family feeling like we could live in our 2BR Oceanside unit forever! Indeed, WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: When yolu go- be sure to note which tower you're in - they are identical & it can be confus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Address: 333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.