We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 50's atmoshpere and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock N Roll Diner

Rock N Roll Diner
1300 Railroad St, Oceano, CA 93445-9630
805-473-2040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Oceano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Visalia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great 50's atmoshpere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The food and service were excellent! The converted passenger railcars are pretty cool. 50's music and movie posters line the walls along with hundreds of business cards from those who have visited this unique restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Five star atmosphere. Two star food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Although it looks the part, Rock n Roll dinner missed the mark. Food was skimpy to price. Average breakfast at $11 is not what I expect. According to the walks, it gets local awards for lunch and dinner. Might be better to skip for breakfast, IMHO.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quite a good and diverse menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We walked here from Pismo Beach Oceano campground and enjoyed a very tasty dinner. Everything from Mexican to Greek to Barbecue, and everything the 4 of us had was good. Moderate prices, nice atmosphere and very attentive staff. We'll be back for breakfast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Being baby boomers we always seek out a spot that promises rock and roll music. The diner did not disappoint. It was fun eating in a train car and it is decorated very cute.
The best part however was the food. They were not very busy on a Saturday morning and we were a little worried but my Denver omelette was the best I've had in a very long time, with sauted onions and peppers instead of raw like some places, and lots of good melty cheddar cheese. I really love hash browns and theirs were excellent, Crispy on the outside and not oily at all. My husband had a pancake sandwich and was also very happy. Our waiter was quiet and efficient and the food arrived very hot and very promptly. If we pass thru again we would definitely return. There are lots of choices in the area but I don't think you would find any better diner food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Having dinner at a Diner is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staff was very friendly and tried to give their best. The shakes were very good and huge. Dinner was not really on the highest level but moderate. The wagon was very clean and nice equipped.
The music from the jukebox, all the pictures of Elvis, James Dean, Marilyn Monroe - a great place to eat out with kids!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock N Roll Diner also viewed

Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
 
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rock N Roll Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock N Roll Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.