We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and location are great, food not so great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Juan's Cantina

Old Juan's Cantina
649 Pier Ave, Oceano, CA 93445
(805) 489-5680
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Oceano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ambiance and location are great, food not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lots of TV's like most restaurants are doing. Neat "Mexican" feel to the restaurant, The server was pretty good, and fairly attentive, but maybe a little too overloaded to pay the amount of attention to us that she should have. The food was less than average. I liked the tortilla chips they give you as an appetizer, but the rest of the "Mexican" food was below average in taste and presentation. This restaurant is about 10-minutes from our house., and we probably won't go back unless we hear better word of mouth from friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have struggled to find decent Mexican food around AG. So far this is the best we have found. The food is well-prepared and the interior is usually neat and clean.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ask for their homade hot sauce otherwise no spice..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It seems like this costal area has always lacked a Mexican food restaurant worthy of raving about. Now I'm not a local, so maybe I'm misled. We visit family in the area every year, and every time we try this type of food down here, it's just so-so. Last time I was here, it was called Spanish seas I think. I like the look of the inside, and I'm sure if you show up after 5 it would get crowded being so near the dunes, but the food lacks any flavor/authenticity that I'm used to being from central/northern CA. Pricy food but you get a decent amount. Also this is the first time I've ever seen a restaraunt charge extra $ for rice and beans to come with your entree.?? A plus was the waiter ( the only one on shift at 430) was pleasant and brought out homemade hot sauce to help flavor it up. Had the appetiser platter and enchilada/relleno combo.Eh. Taco trucks in thevalley have more goingon for the palate. Glad it wasn't crowded that early as the food wasn't worth waiting for.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This restaurant is great for groups and the food is very good. They have a full bar and the Margaritas are very good also. The service is friendly and good, but get there early if you can, there is always a wait to be seated.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Hang Out With the Locals! Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were camping at the Oceano campground, saw the reviews and decided to eat closeby and hang out with the locals. The parking lot was swamped, and street parking was on over flow, so we knew the place was rockin'. No tables until the next day, so we located two stools at the bar. Met a local who walked over for tacos and beer, so we ordered a few cold ones, struck up a conversation and had a great time. Loved the fish tacos and the carnitas were great! The place is swamped, so the service can suffer (too many guests, not enough servers), but we suffered through and had a wonderful evening! Will DEFINATELY eat there on our next trip to Pismo/Oceano. Old Juan's is awesome!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Juan's Cantina also viewed

Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
 
Oceano, San Luis Obispo County
Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Old Juan's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Juan's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.