We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable yet noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Plaza Resort

Pacific Plaza Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Plaza Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   444 Pier Avenue, Oceano, CA 93445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oceano
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable yet noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a nice property. We always enjoy our stay. The rooms could use deep cleaning. Most of the walls had a smudge or fingerprint especially the bathroom. We were promised an upstairs room and unfortunately when we checked in were told they had none available. When staying in a downstairs unit, you can hear what's going on above.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose this place because it is a short walk from the airport so we could fly in. Our room (605) was very clean. Bathroom was great, lots of water pressure in shower, and the water temp was consistent. Call and ask for an upstairs room in the middle of the complex. Our room was on the south end near a wooden bridge. Every time a car went over the bridge it sounded like someone was driving a car on the roof. Also, lots of upstairs noise from kids stomping around starting at 7am. So an upstairs unit would be better. It is very quite otherwise. A short walk to the beach as well. Also call for the AAA discount, as its not available online. We will be back.

Room Tip: Second story rooms, or a single story unit near the middle would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented two "suites" here in Sept this year for 2 nights and although we had a pleasant enough stay we felt that the rooms were overpriced.
Each suite consisted of a bedroom with connecting bathroom, a kitchen area and a living room with sofa bed.
In both rooms the sofa beds were very poor quality and did not offer a reasonable nights sleep. The other problem is that to use the bathroom the people on the sofa bed have to enter the bedroom disturbing whoever is sleeping in there. Maybe not a problem if you have a young family but my family are all adults and it was a nuicance.

The kitchens were well equiped but persoal to the owners, so different things in different suites.

The resort is a short walk from a large sandy beach but the area feels very run down and I would not feel safe allowing children to play on the beach as there were vehicles on it constantly.
There is a nice nature reserve over the road from the resort and we seen plenty of humming birds there...a real treat!

A short drive takes you to supermarkets and restaurants but the whole area surrounding this resort feels very neglected.
I certainly felt that we paid way over the top for what was an average stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been staying at Pacific Plaza for over 8 years (2x a year). We love it. You absolutely can't beat the rates for what you get. The location is perfect. One block from the beach entrance. Across the street from a beautiful state park with walking trails. Bordering a beautiful lagoon. 5 min from main street and shops. A short walk to a couple of restaurants and liquor stores. The staff is wonderful and friendly. You can get 1 or 2 bedrooms, all have gas fireplaces and full kitchens. There is a small pool and great spa. What I have learned about the place on this visit is that Most of the rooms are great, but not all. Find the rooms you enjoy and request them. They will go out of their way to get you into the rooms you like. We stayed in two different rooms this time. 410 was fabulous. 511 not. When they get busy, some things seem to get compromised. 511 had sand all over the patio, really dirty windows, and not much of a view. The furniture was stiff and very uncomfortable. Tiny t.v.'s. There were no extra blankets and the bed Even with that said you still cannot beat the price. We will never stop coming here and it remains our favorite spot. We now know some of the rooms that we really enjoy and some that we do not. Thanks Pacific Plaza for another memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great place. We reserved a room here quite by chance while on a road trip from San Diego to San Francisco. Turns out this is a great place. We arrived a little later than we anticipated and when we checked we were told the complimentary laundry was closed but without hesitation the clerk that checked us in said he'd open it up for us. He was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms have an open. Cheery and with an aquatic theme to them. There are DVD players with the television in the living room and the bedroom. The room we had came with a fold out queen bed besides the main bed. Bathrooms were clean as was the kitchen which had everything we needed if we decide to have breakfast in which we did. Short walk to the beach and all in all a really enjoyable experience. We'd like to return for a longer stay one day as we found it relaxing and the drive on beach beautiful. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Only been once but think all the rooms must be really nice like the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We flew into Oceano airport for Airport day and stayed at the PPR. Easy walk from airport and a nice place to stay. Staff was friendly,,room was clean and we had a nice two night stay. The only negative thing was the shower head had such a low flow it was hard to rinse off and wash hair.
Nice full size kitchen that we didn't use. Resort was full but very quiet.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulock, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just recently returned from a trip to the Pismo Dunes and stayed 2 nights at the Pacific Plaza Resort. Our stay was not adequate at all. The room we were in (405) needs some major maintenence. There were curtains missing in the bedroom, the shutters were broken so no matter how hard you tried to close them they just would not stay closed. The shower in the bathroom had to be aimed at the wall otherwise the water would leak out all over the floor making it very dangerous. The main issue were the ants. They were invading the kitchen. The room just was not maintained. They used to also have a continental breakfast, one of the reasons we decided to stay again. Come to find out they stopped the breakfast.

For the price we paid in an off-peak time of the year, this hotel was not worth it. I will not be recommending this place to friends or family in fact I will be telling everyone to never stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Plaza Resort

Address: 444 Pier Avenue, Oceano, CA 93445
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Oceano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oceano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Plaza Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Plaza Hotel Oceano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.