We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Historic Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
3731 Main St, Occidental, CA 95465
707 874 3444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Great Historic Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family has been going to the Union forever. We visited last Sunday (Father's Day) and ate outside in the garden area. The food and service were very good and the memories? "superb".

* Wish they served the Chicken Cacciatore on Sundays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    47
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food was amazing, the bread was fabulous and the service was top notch. I can't wait to bring my friends to this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After zip lining in the area, we went to the Union Hotel for lunch. Wow - so much food... we were stuffed! Started with the bruschetta, then soup, salads, meat & cheese, then our entrees. The historic building has some interesting pictures on the wall - and gives a great ambiance for going back in time. The service was great too! A large selection of choices on the menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

any time we go to the coast we have to stop by the union hotel for lunch or dinner. I love the ride to occidental. The food is excellent. I have never had better bruschetta. No one makes it like the union hotel. The atmosphere is unlike any restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catraveler 8
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family, outstanding food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had the good fortune of discovering this property when we were traveling through Occidental. Hungry and in need of a place to stop before the next place on our journey, we had the pleasure of meeting Barbara Gonnella and her family. The hotel was fully booked or we would have stayed. The food was wonderful, so much so that we ordered more than what was recommended to us (our eyes were bigger than our stomachs)! We ended up taking a large portion of the food with us (thankfully-we loved it). The atmosphere was relaxing and no matter who you are the doors are welcoming and open.The hotel was fully booked or we would have stayed. My family loves this stop, we have since returned several times. The pizza's are a true winner with my children. I loved it all! You can't go wrong, the hotel accommodates families, children, couples, everyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.