We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great family restaurant in an historic building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
3731 Main St, Occidental, CA 95465
707 874 3444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
San Ramon, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a great family restaurant in an historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Been there about 6-7 times over the years. this review is for my last visit on New Years Day. We ride up from San Francisco 100 Strong and this staff always seem to accommodate us, Portions are great, friendly staff (while serving 100 bikers) well i guess they like us. Fantastic meals and I love the atmosphere here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    51
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had the soup and salad, which may not be a fair sample of the food. Others said it was good. Ours was average.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!!!! DON'T MISS IT!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been coming to the Union Hotel now for 3 years. Barbara the owner is the ultimate hostess. I live in San Francisco and eat at 4-5 star restaurants weekly. This is by far better. The ambiance is perfect. The staff is awesome. The food is off the charts amazing. Go there hungry because it is massive amounts of amazing food. Bruschetta, antipasto, soup, salad, massive entrees, desserts to die for. The coffee bar and pastries the next morning for breakfast should not be missed either. Occidental is a diamond in the rough. It is my haven from the city life, clean air, friendly people, no stress, and this restaurants amazing food is the icing on the cake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food & Awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our favorite place to stop in when we are in the "area" of Sonoma County. It is so worth the drive for the tiramisu and the dinners... portions are more than generous but it's the quality that is delicious. We have a running debate over the best dinner - is it the polenta, the homemade ravioli, or the fettuccini Florentine? It's all yummy – be sure to bring an appetite! We love the family atmosphere, the loving staff, and the fun decor. Stop in & have an incredible dining experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated my birthday at the Union Hotel because it is our favorite restaurant. She didn’t even ask me where I wanted to go, she just knew! The restaurant is more than a 90 minute round trip for us and well worth the drive. Upon returning home I logged into Trip Advisor to write this review and was not allowed to because I had written too many reviews for the Union Hotel recently. This just proves how much we love the place !!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.