We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Toooooo Much Great Food !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
3731 Main St, Occidental, CA 95465
707 874 3444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Petaluma, California, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Way Toooooo Much Great Food !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Union Hotel has been a family favorite for more than 50 years. Five generations have eaten there. My daughter and son-in-law were in town for the holidays which means a trek to Occidental. It is a 45 minute drive for us and well worth it. As always, the food and service were fantastic and price more than fare. Also, there was plenty of left overs to take home. At the end of the meal, I was too stuffed to eat more, but I ordered carrot cake with the intent of taking most of it home. It along with the raviolis that we were not able to touch at dinner fed me for a couple of days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    51
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lots of food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fun and funky place. Tons of food and their breadsticks are to die for! Consider splitting an order as you get a lot of food. Service was great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great starters, appetizers, drinks and staff but disappointing main course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Actually the title says it all. We went to the Union Hotel restaurant and had lunch. Their wait staff and hostess were very nice and accommodating. The bruschetta was quite tasty as were the soups, drinks and salads. I ordered the chicken picatta but found it so-so in quality and disappointing for the price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming - another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We made our yearly drive up to the Union Hotel - we look forward to visiting again for the 364 days after we go each year. Barbara is always kind to our girls, making them feel special with a personal tour of the bakery which is beautifully decorated for the holidays. This should be a must visit on everyone's list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Love their pizza, and their Cesar Salad is pretty yummy too! If you like family style Italian dinners,it's the place to go. Good place for large groups

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.