We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negri's Original Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Negri's Original Italian Restaurant
3700 Bohemian Highway, PO Box 306, Occidental, CA 95465
707 823 5301
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good food and lots of it. It's. Traditional 5 course meal and it is all so good by the time the main course arrives you want to tell them to put it in a to go container. A must place to eat. Ask for a window seat you just might see deer walking down the middle of town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had their Porterhouse 18oz steaks. It was one of the best steaks ever. I didn't order the full dinner as I knew the Porterhouse would be enough along with the vegetables provided. I was also able to get some of the things the rest of the family didn't eat. The steak would have been enough but I hate to leave food. Thank goodness for picky eaters.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The "Big Guy" in the "Small Dot on the Map"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Occidental is a place you could easily miss and never think twice about. One of the few draws to this area other than wines is the Osmosis Day Spa in nearby Freestone. It's a shame because I find this little town so quaint and lovely, nestled within the beautiful redwoods of Sonoma County. And Negri's is just a no-nonsense Italian restaurant that serves terrific food and in good size portions (unless you're a Sumo wrestler, I doubt you'll walk out of this place feeling hungry!). They have picnic style bench seating with plastic covers. Who cares - you come here for the food: they serve a great porterhouse steak and they're lasagna is terrific. I'm not a big cottage cheese fan, but they serve an outstanding one which comes with your meal. Haven't tried their desserts so I cannot comment on them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eat the minestrone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've been coming to Negri's for years, usually after visiting Osmosis day spa in Freestone or camping/staying in Bodega Bay. It's a family-owned/operated restaurant, kids are welcome and if they're noisy, won't be intrusive as the atmosphere is very relaxed. If you have a big group, it is easily accommodated. The entrees can be ordered a la carte or in a dinner which comes with minestrone, salad, antipasti, bread, the entree and potatoes in some form or vegies. The portions are large but the quality is hit-or-miss. However, the minestrone is fabulous. Many times I go to the restaurant just to have the soup. I've had the porterhouse steak which sometimes is wonderful. They do have a good, cheesy lasagna. The salami which is served is delicious. The bread, a tasty sourdough, is plentiful and usually served with so-so olive oil and balsamic vinegar but butter can be obtained by asking. They serve a very nice creme brulee and a lovely chocolate mousse. Sadly, I haven't been impressed with the fritters or tiramisu. If you have a hankering for minestrone or a big appetite, this is a good place to visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fun traditional italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

They have Large tables, come around and bring 3-course meals. It was a fun atmosphere and delicious food. Definitely an great italian food spot!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negri's Original Italian Restaurant also viewed

Occidental, Sonoma County
Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Negri's Original Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negri's Original Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.