We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Occidental
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Occidental Hotel
Save
You added Occidental Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10.00 OFF!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Nestled among the redwoods, this is a definite sleeper hotel. Occidental is a wonderful town and this hotel while no frills, does have a pool, is clean and you can't beat the price or location. It's worth the drive.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2015
Hi legsbell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for having such kind words!

We all work very hard each day to provide an enjoyable experience for all our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We have many repeat guests and hope that we will see you again soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us --- we value your patronage.


Sincerely,


Marc Negri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Desk person was friendly and very accommodating regarding helping me choose the right room as I need quiet to sleep. Room was dated but clean, comfortable and a nice size. Loved the location in a small town where everything was in close walking distance. We were able to get dinner and a beer next door after we arrived and breakfast across the street the next morning. There were only 2 other rooms occupied. The person a few doors down was outside having a conversation with someone and his voice was clearly heard. I would think this hotel would be very noisy when busy. There was heavy rain overnight and we had left a car window cracked. The seat was soaked and the man working in the morning was very helpful providing us with towels to dry the seat and insisted we take a towel to sit on, as well.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying in a room as far away from other guests as possible to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We got a room with a kitchenette since we like to go to farmers markets and then make simple dishes with locally procured items. But the kitchen had no plates, silverware, cups, mugs, kitchen towels, kitchen detergent, pans, and pots. It did have a coffeemaker with coffee and tea fixings, coffee mugs, microwave, and refrigerator. But nothing else. It was a bit of a surprise so I'm writing this to let people know so that they can be better prepared. The place is well-kept and clean. The TV in the bedroom was up on an improvised shelf to the extreme left of the bed (when facing the bed). Otherwise the location is ideal. I loved having Howard's so close.

Room Tip: All the rooms probably are exposed to the noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Hi veh96744,

Thank you for visiting the historic village of Occidental and choosing to stay at the Occidental Hotel. We value your decision to stay with us and hope you will be able to make a return visit very soon.

I also wanted to personally thank you for your review and let you know we were sorry to hear of any misunderstanding that created disappointment.

Your review did a great service by giving us the opportunity to clarify our room type(s).

We have five room types:

1. Standard Single King
2. Standard Double with two queen sized beds
3. Deluxe Single King
4. Deluxe Double with two queen sized beds
5. Two bedroom suite

We wanted to let our future guests and everyone in the Trip Advisor community know that we do not have rooms with kitchenettes.

Our Suites have a entertainment bar and dining area suitable for sharing a bottle of wine and snacks with a small number of friends or wedding party guests. Like all our rooms, the Suites have a microwave oven, coffee pot, glass coffee cups and small refrigerator, but no operable full size oven, cooktop, dishwasher, or any other appliance for preparing and cleaning up after meals. For this reason we do not supply the room with pots, pans, dishwasher detergent etc.

As a convenience our front desk has available upon request disposable plates, utensils and napkins to aid our guests in creating a welcoming environment for their friends and family.

The entertainment bar and dining area has been a popular amenity for our wedding guests, families, and other groups by providing a room with an area where guests can "check in" and share a drink and a snack while visiting with friends.

Photos of one of our suites are available to view on our website.

We hope this has been helpful to everyone in the Trip Advisor family and we hope to see all of you very soon.

Sincerely,


Marc Negri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

First of all get this straight: this is not a quaint, boutique or luxury inn like many expect in Sonoma County. This is a straight forward, old-fashioned motel that has been nicely updated. It is very clean. The beds and pillows are comfortable. There is plenty of hot water. There is a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee pot.

It is a little noisy, particularly in the morning as the trucks begin to rumble through town. If the rooms on either side or below you are occupied, you will know it. You won't be able to eavesdrop, but you will hear muffled snoring and conversation. The heater is a unit under the window that cycles on/off all night long. Bath products are minimal: a couple of tiny bars of soap and combined shampoo/conditioner.

But, it's an affordable option in a cute, tiny town. Definitely, go to Howard's across the street for breakfast and/or lunch. Check out the little shops. Bohemian Grocery has a great selection of basic groceries and personal care items, if you've forgotten anything. Give the Sonoma Canopy Tour zip line a try.

Occidental is not a destination, but it is a pleasant stop along the way to where ever else you may be going in Sonoma County.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed in room 184 during the Thanksvigiving weekend. On the plus side, the hotel is clean and the outside grounds are well kept. The location is great, as the hotel is located in the small downtown area of occidental so we could walk everywhere. The negative issues were that the king bed mattress was really firm. For others this may not be an issue, but it was for us. It was hard to get a good nights rest due to the fact that we could hear the hot water heater running through the wall in the next room. Walls very thin. We could hear the tv and shower also in the next room. It was very annoying. There was a TV in the living room area but sometimes you like to watch tv in bed. The tv in the bedroom was located on top of a shelf to the right of the bed so you had to look sideways to watch. We could not figure out why don't they just purchase a flat tv so they could mount to the wall in front of the bed. Since it was a holiday weekend the rate for our room for 2 nights was almost $350. not including the pet fee. For this rate the room was a bit disappointing due what I mentioned above.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just left the hotel. We spent two nights there. It was a fantastic, clean room. The pool was wonderful. The staff in the office and cleaning gang were fabulous. We plan to go back as soon as we can. We recommend the Occidental Hotel to everyone! The area is beautiful and peaceful. The stores and restaurants are wonderful and the people so friendly. I have been to the restaurants since I was a baby. (55 yrs.) You can do many things or just relax. Again excellent rating is truly the truth and comes from our hearts. Paul and Barbara Loughrey

Room Tip: Ask for the Queen Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Checked in here Fourth of July Weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Be sure to ask for one of the remodeled rooms as they are decorated nicely, very clean and spacious. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again when returning to the area. All the wonderful Occidental restaurants are just a very short walk from the "Hotel". This really is a motel but a very nice one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Occidental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this AAA multi diamond rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.