We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicest town in Nortern CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Occidental
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Occidental Hotel
Save
You added Occidental Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
NJ
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nicest town in Nortern CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have been staying here for years. Great spot, well run. The prices really shot up this year, but they did spruce up the rooms a bit. Brian is super helpful. Try to get an upstairs room aas they are quieter. Wireless, coffee in room, great pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
key west, fl
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms with small refrigerator, microwave and king bed. For the price, you can't beat it. Family owned and you can see it in the care that is taken with the property. I'll be back. They accept pets too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The Occidental Hotel is clean and best bet for the price. But be clear--it is a motel not a hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an older hotel in a charming little town. The folks working there were very nice and helpful. The shower worked great, the bed was a bit hard and the walls are pretty thin. The folks in the next room were loud talkers, but the AC unit helped drown out their yapping and they retired early.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, you don't have to listen to the folks above you walking about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've just returned from this motel and, yes, it is older but upgraded The cons are that the walls are thin and you can hear the people walking upstairs but other than that it is value for dollar The room was clean and spacious and the pool while not heated was just fine. Howards acrosss the street has an amazing breakfast and the Wildflower bakery down the road is not to be missed. The front desk is not continually attended but are available as you need them. You might neeed to leave a message for a reservation but they get back to you immediately. The rates for other nearby B&B's and motel were double to what I paid here. You should bring your Skype app device because cell phones do not work well here. You are in a valley on the edge of the Redwoods. Internet connectivity was no problem. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating. They quickly cleaned our room when asked (very important with two kids on somewhat different nap schedules.) Excellent value. Clean. Had mini fridge and microwave. Fairly spacious given that we had a pack and play (square) to fit in besides a toddler and the things that he likes to leave around. I would return.

P.S. right across the street from howard's that serves delicious breakfasts (crabs benedict, breakfasr quesadilla, blueberry cornmeal pancakes and strawberry waffles.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a fantastic long weekend in the charming town of Occidental. This was our 6th visit to Negri's and they have always come through with great service and a very comfortable, clean room. The hotel is quiet and the staff has always been friendly. With the beaches and wineries close by, Occidental is the ideal place to stay. If you are looking for a great Italian meal in town, you must visit Negri's Restaurant. We look forward to trip number 7.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
6.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sebastopol Inn
Sebastopol Inn
#3 of 3 in Sebastopol
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Occidental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this AAA multi diamond rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.