We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Occidental Hotel to your Saves list
Occidental Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
key west, fl
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms with small refrigerator, microwave and king bed. For the price, you can't beat it. Family owned and you can see it in the care that is taken with the property. I'll be back. They accept pets too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The Occidental Hotel is clean and best bet for the price. But be clear--it is a motel not a hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travelJaclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an older hotel in a charming little town. The folks working there were very nice and helpful. The shower worked great, the bed was a bit hard and the walls are pretty thin. The folks in the next room were loud talkers, but the AC unit helped drown out their yapping and they retired early.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, you don't have to listen to the folks above you walking about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've just returned from this motel and, yes, it is older but upgraded The cons are that the walls are thin and you can hear the people walking upstairs but other than that it is value for dollar The room was clean and spacious and the pool while not heated was just fine. Howards acrosss the street has an amazing breakfast and the Wildflower bakery down the road is not to be missed. The front desk is not continually attended but are available as you need them. You might neeed to leave a message for a reservation but they get back to you immediately. The rates for other nearby B&B's and motel were double to what I paid here. You should bring your Skype app device because cell phones do not work well here. You are in a valley on the edge of the Redwoods. Internet connectivity was no problem. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mar20815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating. They quickly cleaned our room when asked (very important with two kids on somewhat different nap schedules.) Excellent value. Clean. Had mini fridge and microwave. Fairly spacious given that we had a pack and play (square) to fit in besides a toddler and the things that he likes to leave around. I would return.

P.S. right across the street from howard's that serves delicious breakfasts (crabs benedict, breakfasr quesadilla, blueberry cornmeal pancakes and strawberry waffles.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stablefog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a fantastic long weekend in the charming town of Occidental. This was our 6th visit to Negri's and they have always come through with great service and a very comfortable, clean room. The hotel is quiet and the staff has always been friendly. With the beaches and wineries close by, Occidental is the ideal place to stay. If you are looking for a great Italian meal in town, you must visit Negri's Restaurant. We look forward to trip number 7.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

When I called a couple of days before our trip to get a reservation near Sebastopol for the Tour D'Organics bike ride, the conversation with the hotel was excellent. When we arrived, we were welcomed. The room was air-conditioned with a king-size bed and full bath. The fridge was quiet and didn't disturb us. We were given the Internet password at reception and in a village where AT&T doesn't have mobile phone service, the Internet was reliable and quick.

I swam in the pool after dinner, which is covered with a bubble-wrap type solar cover at dark. It was clean, warm and long enough to get some good lengths in - it also had shallow steps for children and was 5ft deep in the deep end.

The area is quiet and we slept well. As this is a motel-style property you can hear people above and people in the car parking area outside the rooms, but the proprietors have done a great job of modernizing the rooms. Occidental has a variety of restaurants and is on the edge of the redwood forest, not too far from the sea and not too far from wineries, so it's a great base for a restful vacation or weekend escape.

Room Tip: If you like big, comfy king size beds then you can get one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
5.3 mi away
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
6.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sebastopol Inn
Sebastopol Inn
#3 of 3 in Sebastopol
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Occidental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing