We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean motel in fun, quirky town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Occidental Hotel to your Saves list
Occidental Hotel
3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean motel in fun, quirky town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The Occidental Hotel is clean and best bet for the price. But be clear--it is a motel not a hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an older hotel in a charming little town. The folks working there were very nice and helpful. The shower worked great, the bed was a bit hard and the walls are pretty thin. The folks in the next room were loud talkers, but the AC unit helped drown out their yapping and they retired early.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, you don't have to listen to the folks above you walking about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've just returned from this motel and, yes, it is older but upgraded The cons are that the walls are thin and you can hear the people walking upstairs but other than that it is value for dollar The room was clean and spacious and the pool while not heated was just fine. Howards acrosss the street has an amazing breakfast and the Wildflower bakery down the road is not to be missed. The front desk is not continually attended but are available as you need them. You might neeed to leave a message for a reservation but they get back to you immediately. The rates for other nearby B&B's and motel were double to what I paid here. You should bring your Skype app device because cell phones do not work well here. You are in a valley on the edge of the Redwoods. Internet connectivity was no problem. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating. They quickly cleaned our room when asked (very important with two kids on somewhat different nap schedules.) Excellent value. Clean. Had mini fridge and microwave. Fairly spacious given that we had a pack and play (square) to fit in besides a toddler and the things that he likes to leave around. I would return.

P.S. right across the street from howard's that serves delicious breakfasts (crabs benedict, breakfasr quesadilla, blueberry cornmeal pancakes and strawberry waffles.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a fantastic long weekend in the charming town of Occidental. This was our 6th visit to Negri's and they have always come through with great service and a very comfortable, clean room. The hotel is quiet and the staff has always been friendly. With the beaches and wineries close by, Occidental is the ideal place to stay. If you are looking for a great Italian meal in town, you must visit Negri's Restaurant. We look forward to trip number 7.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

When I called a couple of days before our trip to get a reservation near Sebastopol for the Tour D'Organics bike ride, the conversation with the hotel was excellent. When we arrived, we were welcomed. The room was air-conditioned with a king-size bed and full bath. The fridge was quiet and didn't disturb us. We were given the Internet password at reception and in a village where AT&T doesn't have mobile phone service, the Internet was reliable and quick.

I swam in the pool after dinner, which is covered with a bubble-wrap type solar cover at dark. It was clean, warm and long enough to get some good lengths in - it also had shallow steps for children and was 5ft deep in the deep end.

The area is quiet and we slept well. As this is a motel-style property you can hear people above and people in the car parking area outside the rooms, but the proprietors have done a great job of modernizing the rooms. Occidental has a variety of restaurants and is on the edge of the redwood forest, not too far from the sea and not too far from wineries, so it's a great base for a restful vacation or weekend escape.

Room Tip: If you like big, comfy king size beds then you can get one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I've stayed here before, I'd say 6 years ago. I found the location great with Colson Road to the ocean just down the street. Very reasonable rates considering the area. The rooms are comfortable and the reception was friendly and accommodating. Occidental itself is a great little town. Check out the Sonoma Canopy tours if you go. My daughter did it and loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this AAA multi diamond rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.