We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barley and Hops Tavern

Barley and Hops Tavern
3688 Bohemian Hwy, Occidental, CA 95465
707-874-9037
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Coleman Valley Rd.
Description: Local, and always from-scratch, our pub grub is the best in the area. Everything is below 15 dollars, and hand-made; from pub classics to eclectic favorites. We focus on cooking with craft beer, and serve 13 drafts, and 60+ bottles from local and worldwide craft breweries. A small selection of local wines by-the-glass and hand-crafted local ciders are also available. Live music on the weekends!
Little River, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good beer, great tacos! This is a cute place, with character, friendly service, and in the lovely town of Occidental. My husband and I like to come here on our way home from the coast - he loves the beer selection and I like the tacos!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Not your typical burger and brew place. Yes they do have both, but it you cannot find your brews on tap, they have a nice bottle library to choose from. They have one of my favorites, Gulden Draak all the time in bottles. You can also purchase more elaborate eats and desserts as well--like Chamay pretzel chicken.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Beers and Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fun place to dine in downtown Occidental. Service was very good as was the food. We have been vacationing in Occidental for over 20 years and hope Barley and Hops will be there when we return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great find while passing through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hilarious waitress, fantastic beer menu and mac n cheese that I am still dreaming about (translation: bacon). I want to move here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Solid local eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Needed a lite dinner to tide us over to breakfast after arriving from UK earlier in the afternoon. This local tavern hit the spot, with salads and some great beers.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley and Hops Tavern also viewed

Occidental, Sonoma County
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Barley and Hops Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley and Hops Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.