We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Occidental to your Saves list
Inn at Occidental
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   3657 Church Street, Occidental, CA 95465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Great Base Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My recent trip to Sonoma was a nice mix. Our base camp was Occidental, a charming little township founded in 1876 on the Bohemian Highway. This road travels through 10 miles of eye-popping scenery, including giant redwoods, sun-drenched pastures, historic apple groves, and three lovely towns — Freestone and Monte Rio on the ends, and Occidental in the middle.
Occidental was an ideal staging area, just 60 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge and convenient to the Russian River wineries and the rugged Sonoma Coast.


We stayed at The Inn at Occidental, a first-rate 16-room Victorian bed and breakfast in the heart of town. Each room has its own theme and is decorated with original folk art and antiques. The owners and hosts were super friendly and helpful when planning where to eat and spend you time wine tasting or sight seeing the incredible countryside.

Our bedroom suite was spacious, with a sitting room, and beautifully appointed with comfy robes, a fireplace and a spa tub for two. The inn also provides a wonderful gourmet breakfast and an evening wine and cheese offering to its guests.

From the inn you can stroll the tiny town, browsing several art and craft stores as well as other quaint shops selling all kinds of weird, wacky and wonderful stuff. (One shop turns all sorts of discards into lamp bases.)Throughout the year, the town is home to entertainment events , including concerts featuring locals and world-famous jazz, folk and classical artists.

The handful of fine dining and family-style restaurants are within a stone’s throw of each other, as are a handful of motels and B&Bs that dot the perimeter. There are several restaurants in the area where fine dining and casual meet the road.

We had an excellent culinary experience at the Bistro des Copains, a casual dining gem just a half a block from our inn. See my review.

We had a wonderful experience at the Inn and would join the many regulars who return year after year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
mendo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite rooms is the Marbles. This time there was three of us and plenty of room. The sleeper sofa was very comfy with a feather bed and of course high end linens.

They are just a short and beautiful drive to Hog Island Oyster Company.

Chef Victoria made sweet potato hash with an egg, it was very tasty, along with blueberry white chocolate muffins. Thank you Marilyn for always recognizing us! Tina and Jerry, you have a wonderful Inn! Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our 25th anniversary is coming up and we've picked this Inn as our destination. We've stayed here several times and wouldn't stay anywhere else in the wine country. Other than the uniqueness of the facility the real attraction here are the owners Tina and Jerry. They're warm and hospitable and they treat us like family.

Breakfast is always great, the afternoon happy hour is fun. You can always make a new friend. While the location is a little off the beaten path you can get to the Sonoma wineries in about twenty minutes and to the Pacific Ocean in about a half hour.

This is definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert54245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, california
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Inn the past weekend and it was one of the most pleasant experiences we have had in the wine country. We stayed in the "Cirque" room which had a circus motif, and it was very comfortable and clean. The fireplace was an added touch even if it was gas-powered. The "happy hour" wine and cheese in the evening were an extra bonus to compliment the wonderful breakfast we had the next morning. The staff are totally dedicated to making your stay a truly memorable experinence and we received some great help in finding local wine-tasting adventures. The Inn is perfectly situated in scenic "downtown" Occidental, and very short walk to several nice restaurants. We dined at the Bistro des Copains again (see separate review) and had a fantastic meal. We will definitely return to the Inn in the future!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairfield_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lots of charm and character surrounded by forest. I have lived in California all my life and have never been here. I would come again. Each room has a huge spa tub with jacuzzi. Rooms are big. We were here when it rained and enjoyed the fireplace in our rom.
We drove up the coast and came to occidental from bodega bay and followed the GPS through the forest on an incredible one lane road. We thought we were lost. It was raining hard. We were happily surprised to find this little town of Occidental and a beautiful inn with Victorian charm.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second or third floor. I think the handicapped access may be in the main building b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We actually stayed here many years ago when it was Heart's Desire Inn. We were so impressed, we kept the original brochure. With the new owner's, Jerry and Tina, it hasn't changed a bit. If anything, the breakfast and hospitality was even better. It was a very pleasant experience and would not hesitate to recommend for your next stay in this beautiful area of Northern California!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We traveled to SanFrancisco in early November, and were recomended by friends to visit Sonoma County. Our search led us to Occidental, small little town with amazing Redwoods. We made our reservation and the staff was very accomidating for our last minute requests. Nice room and amenities mith just enough cabin feel to give us a retreat type experience. Plenty of fresh air and fantastic Sonoma County wine made a great 3 day getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kc3_newyorklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
11.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Address: 3657 Church Street, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing