We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Occidental to your Saves list
Inn at Occidental
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   3657 Church Street, Occidental, CA 95465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tyler, TX
1 review
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the last two days of our honeymoon. We had dreary weather (cold and rainy in early April), but we still had a perfect time. We stayed in the Cirque du Sonoma courtyard room. It is at the very top of the rooms that are outside of the main house, and it is definitely a lot of stairs to climb (and for my new husband to tote our luggage up - lol). The plus side to that, is that the deck on the outside of the room overlooks the quaint town. We felt personally welcomed by the innkeepers. Upon check in, we were given a tour of the property and guided to our rooms where they gave us instructions on the fireplace, etc. In our room, they had a rose picked from the garden and a note congratulating us on our marriage. It was very welcoming. The innkeepers were very helpful at the wine and cheese reception on giving us advice about wineries in the area, towns like Healdsburg to explore, and making dinner recommendations and reservations. The room was large and very comfortable. The tub and shower were very nice. There is a small grocery store a block or so away from the hotel. I walked there while my husband was taking a nap, and picked up some bottles of wine, cheese and crackers and in the evenings we sat on our deck or enjoyed the fireplace. It was perfect. Like other reviews have mentioned, there is no cell phone reception in Occidental (and it is spotty in the surrounding areas). This didn't bother us at all as we were trying to getaway. The breakfast was good. They had a nice spread of food. One of the mornings, my hot entree was super sweet and rich, but I ate fruit and granola instead and was fine. The only thing I regret is that we didn't stay here longer, it was the high note of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: I personally am glad that we stayed in a courtyard room which isn't attached to the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
It's always a rewarding feeling to receive such a positive review from one of our guests. I would like to add to the comment that Verizon cell service is available in Occidental and the Inn does have line land phones in each rooms plus we have wireless service through Comcast.
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    34
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
171
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here while on a bike tour, and I think this place might be the most beautiful I've ever seen, beginning with the courtyard of rose gardens and the wrap-around porch with white wicker furniture and green plants. The original part of the inn is decorated with hand-painted murals and interesting furniture, making little sitting areas cozy and private. There are also outdoor sitting areas. Each room has a different theme: my bed was a tree as were several of the lamps in the room. The jacuzzi had ducks in the bottom to welcome me. There was a deck overloking the town. The bed could not have been more comfortable. The cooked-to-order breakfast the next morning was perfect and more than plenty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed two nights recently and loved it. The place is charming, the afternoon cookies (with tea or coffee) were fabulous and the morning breakfast was yummy. Didn't take advantage of the hot entree but instead went for yogure, fruit and granola (plus another baked good fresh from the oven). The service was great and very homey. The room exceeded our expectations. Comfy, comfy, comfy bed; nicely appointed bath and ample sitting area. We even turned on the fireplace for a little ambience. Loved falling asleep to the sounds of the fountain right outside our window.

We thought the owners were gracious and hospitable. They are real pros at running a B&B. The outside gardens are lovely.

The town has a few restaurants and a few stores. Thought our dinner was the worst meal we had on our 12 day trip from Seattle to San Francisco. Hard to call that food "Italian." The breakfast/lunch place in town was delightful. Ate lunch outside on a glorious day in September. Very good food for reasonable price.

The zip lining place is 5 minutes away and fun (and easy).

Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

An anniversary getaway. Two nights was a day more than we planned, but once we got there we wished we had planned to stay 3 days. No cell phone reception, no TV in the rooms, no radio signals, and didn't miss anything. Our last visit to Occidental was 36 years ago. A lot has changed, but it doesn't show. The Inn at Occi is BEAUTIFUL - gardens, exterior, common areas, and fresh spacious rooms. Wow.
LIght breakfast is included, featuring fresh fruit bowl, house-made granola(do not miss this), and a special entree that's different every day (Quiche on Sat, Eggs Benedict on Sun). Wifey ordered scrambled eggs with veggies - no problem. Many restaurants within walking distance, Too many local shops to list from groceries to wines to herbal meds. within 20 minutes drive are more great restaurants, wineries. Bicyclists ride through or stay. Its a hub for many forest-farm-ocean routes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos,CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Occidental Inn has several positive attributes to recommend it. It's set back from the main street by about a block and a half, which makes it very convenient to walk to dinner. The town is quite small. It is near several wineries. It has a lovely garden with flowers all around. Our room was quite large with room for a sitting area and a separate bath and shower. Certainly I've seen nicer bathroom fixtures and flooring (linoleum and indoor/outdoor carpet) but everything was clean and functional. They also had a refrigerator and a very nice balcony with flowers all around it. The room was decorated with a circus theme. You are given free wine tasting vouchers to several wineries.

So, where did things go wrong? First off, we were in a rush when we checked in as we wanted to go wine tasting before the wineries closed and we had less than an hour. The lady who showed us around made a big deal about the fireplace but said nothing about the air conditioner. Fast forward a few hours. We come back to our room and change for dinner. We walked down to the Union Hotel and sat outside on their lovely patio. We had a wonderful meal with the best tiramisu I've ever had. We walked back to the hotel and sat outside on our balcony for a little while but it was pretty hot even though it was only the middle of May. We went to turn the air conditioning on and couldn't get it to work. We've been to plenty of hotels in our time and never had this problem before. Honestly, if it is that complicated, there should be written directions. So, we can't get the air conditioner to work and we open the door to the balcony to get some air. Unfortunately, that also let in plenty of noise because that's the downside to being close to the action.

So, we kept alternating between opening and closing the door as we were either too hot or it was too noisy. Finally, we fell asleep. I woke up around 2:00a.m. to a dog whining and barking. The owner finally took the dog out and I was relieved because I thought I would finally get some sleep. However, not more than an hour later, the dog started up again whining and making noise and they didn't take him out. Personally, I think it's a mistake to allow dogs in a small inn like this precisely for this reason. If the dog starts acting up, it disturbs everyone around it. So, I ended up getting about 3-4 hours of sleep that night which is certainly not what you want to have happen on vacation. We went to breakfast in the morning and it was very good. You had a choice of either one or two eggs benedict. Unfortunately, I was pretty cranky from lack of sleep.

I told the wife (a husband and wife own this inn) what had happened and she looked stunned but didn't say much. Later, I got an e-mail from the husband saying we should have called them about the air conditioner. Maybe we should have, but putting up written directions would be helpful for future guests. He was kind enough to send me a voucher for a future stay, but I am unlikely to use it. I would be afraid that the same dog noise problem would crop up again. Honestly, major hotels are already allowing people to bring their dogs. A small inn should separate themselves from the rest by not allowing dogs. People would choose them so they would be guaranteed a quiet and peaceful night's sleep. Since I can't count on that with their current policy, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not directly above a dog friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
As owners of the Inn, we thank the couple who stayed with us and provided us the feedback.
All guest rooms at the Inn have air conditioning. We greet and give all of our guests an orientation about the Inn. Following the orientation we escort each of our guests to their room and once in the room we explain all of the amenities they need to know. It appears in this case we overlooked the verbal explanation on how to operate the A/C unit in the room. We have apologized to the couple and I had sent them a one night gift certificate due to their unhappiness. Additionally, following their departure we added a small written procedure on how to operate the A/C unit in the room and placed it in a prominent location on the unit. The Inn has 18 guest rooms in 3 buildings. We have 4 pet-friendly rooms in one of our buildings. We were at a loss for words when we heard that a dog had started to bark late at night. As owners we live in the Inn and respond immediately to any issue which may arise. Unfortunately we did not hear the dog and we did not receive a call. Hopefully our gift certificate for a return visit will be used to regain their confidence in our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and the EU
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel as one of the nicer ones on a three week honeymoon around California and we were not dissapointed. We stayed in the Quilt Room and it was excellent with a huge bath and a great bed. From the offset the staff could not do more to help us plan our visit and sat down with us to pore over maps and offer discounts where applicable, at no point did they push any in particular which was refreshing. Every evening they have a very liberal wine tasting session from 1700-1800 with cheese and meats to be washed down which was a very welcome event and a great way to kick off for a meal at one of the three restaurants in town (a very short walk away). Overall we loved the Inn and Occidental as a place and had a great time exploring the area, we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very comfy beds, quality linens, nicely designed rooms (though some might find their look to be too country/frilly). Very friendly and helpful people.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the top floor of the annex and it was more spacious and had a charming balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Address: 3657 Church Street, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Occidental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.