We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winery tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Niente Winery

Far Niente Winery
1350 Acacia Drive, PO Box 327, Oakville, CA 94562
(707) 944-2861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Oakville
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Westfied, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great winery tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well worth the $50 dollars for the tour and tasting. Beautiful estate. Toured the caves.. We tasted some of the best wines ever. Must see in Napa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour, gorgeous vineyard, outstanding wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Make a reservation at least 2 months in advance if you'd like to see this vineyard. I've been all over Napa and Sonoma and this vineyard was by far the most beautiful that I have seen. I had been a big fan of the wine and ended up joining the wine club at the end of the tour. The tour and tasting is $50 so definitely not cheap but worth it if you are a wine connoisseur. The garage with the vintage cars was awesome!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Winery, Awesome guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We did a group tour/tasting with our guide, Zach. He was funny, knowledgeable and made everyone feel comfortable. I highly recommend Far Niente to new and/or experienced Napa visitors. The wine caves are unforgettable and the car museum is another must-see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This should be the number one thing to in Oakville. We went on business as guests in a large group. We were given tours of the grounds and the winery. The caves were amazing and the wine was so tasty. They make small batches but so good, we even got to try the Dolce with our dinner. We had dinner under the stars as Beth gave us the history of the place. She is so proud of what she and her husband did to the abandoned building. The staff was so knowledgeable and attentive, we had Amanda and she was a delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Even inThe Winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had an amazing experience. The wines were fabulous. They had the MOST amazing collection of antique cars. Best I've ever seen. If you have a car buff bring them here!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Niente Winery also viewed

 
Oakville, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Far Niente Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Niente Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.