We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waffles & Chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Kitchen

Brown Sugar Kitchen
2534 Mandela Pkwy, Oakland, CA 94607-1727
510-839-7685
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,111 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Brown Sugar Kitchen is a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch & brunch. We have a Zagat score of 26, which is the highest score for a soul food restaurant in the San Francisco Bay Area.
San Francisco, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waffles & Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My favorite place for waffles and chicken. Waffles are so light!! If you look at what everyone order, its the chicken and waffles

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PORT ALLEGANY
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Busy Breakfast Full of Soul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Even on a weekday midmorning, there was a bit of a wait, but well worth it. One walks in to spy a bakery case full of tempting delights. The tables are close together so you'll want to keep confidential conversation elsewhere. The kitchen is open and the coffee a rich signature blend. I had my first chicken and waffles -two pieces alongside a thick round waffle, all pleasantly crispy outside and tender within, served with a small pitcher of tangy apple cider syrup to pour where you wish. You can find free parking on the street around here, patrolled by a couple of security guards. So if you're put off by the grit of industrial west Oakland, you can set your fears aside and dig in to some southern comfort here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

because the food is delicious and includes a pretty good variety (but not overwhelming). Service was attentive and very nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Food worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went at 10:00am on a Sunday morning and had an hour and a half + wait. The place is small, cozy, and worth it once. If the weather is nice, as it was this October morning, a walk along the boulevard is just the thing to do while you wait. Others enjoyed coffee on the benches outside. The breakfast menu is limited to an egg, a chicken and waffle, and a grits choice, but with potato and sausage and bacon and even shrimp combinations. With four guests, we decided to try it all. We began with fresh juice, coffee, and shared Beignets Three good sized pastries lightly dusted with flour and accompanied by the homemade jam on the table set the tone! We ordered the grits and bacon which was the perfect combination of smooth, chewy and salty. The two orders of perfectly seasoned chicken (hefty portion, good quality meat) matched the interestingly light and crisp waffle. Personally I wanted a larger waffle as it was so light it melted in my mouth! The watery tart unique syrup they brought was not the sweet taste we craved, so we asked for real syrup. The two buck up charge was sort of petty after the long wait, but other prices were Bay Area reasonable for a speciality place. Lastly, the egg dish was so savory, served with spicy potatoes and thick, yet light, toast. We did not feel hurried, though there was a crowd outside, but coffee was not replenished readily without asking. Overall, we are glad we tried it and rate it excellent... But won't come back as there are tons of great places in the east bay with not so long of a wait. Maybe they need to expand! What they have brought to the area, using local ingredients, good food at good prices, is awesome! Oh, and get a few of the desserts to go! The pastry chef makes some killer selections!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ethereal Waffles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The waffles at Brown Sugar are nothing short of amazing. Light as a snowflake but still crisp. The apple cider syrup is perfect too because it is not too sweet and has a slight appley tartness that really goes well with the fried chicken. The perfect beverage for this meal is North Coast Brewery's Thelonius Monk Belgian Ale on tap. Always worth the wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.