We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian eats chicken and liked it... shhhhhhh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home of Chicken and Waffles

Home of Chicken and Waffles
444 Embarcadero W, Oakland, CA
(866) 421-1482
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Veneta, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Vegetarian eats chicken and liked it... shhhhhhh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

To start, friendly staff positive vibe. Walked past it on way to a very expensive meal at Jack London square and so changed my plans. I got it to go, but waiting it was very nice with a full bar and nice folks seated at it. A very hip 70's feel decor wise. I ordered the Angie's delight which was a breast , waffle and grits. There were many interesting things on the menu but I went with the simple since I had never had chicken and waffles. VERY GOOD. The grits were divine. As I said mine was to go and it was packaged neatly and with everything I needed syrup, butter, hot sauce, wetnap. Great late night feed. The seasoning on the chicken was delicious.Note that it was cash only, but they have an ATM.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Right across from Jack London Square. Diner-ish decor. Reasonably attentive service. I love real quality fried chicken, and this place didn't disappoint. Delicious chicken, crispy on the outside, and moist and tender on the inside. I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had lunch here today. Great food. Great service. Staff was very friendly and attentive. I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Jack London Square..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I discovered this restaurant while attending school in Oakland, April 2013. Having recently moved to the city, it was the first place I wanted to eat. It is that good! If you like your greens cooked to perfection, your chicken seasoned and fried(not greasy) tasty, and your waffles good and hot, then this is the place for you. The menu is quite ample, so don't be afraid to ask the staff for a recommendation, they re always knowledgeable and happy to help. It has old school style decor, a full service bar, and is open until 11pm on most days. You will have to wait most of the time, but they move the line along fast and it is worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chicken & Waffles! Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had the Keith's and my other friends ordered similar versions of chicken & waffles. Everything came out superbly. Didn't seem to heavy or greasy (surprisingly). The only thing I'd say to those who aren't sure if they wanna try it is that you should be in the mood because I don't really consider it an "eat anytime" kind of food.
(Also especially good if you're feeling chicken & waffles at 3-4AM on a Fri/Sat...)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home of Chicken and Waffles also viewed

 

Been to Home of Chicken and Waffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home of Chicken and Waffles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.