We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was up but now far, far down...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tanjia
4905 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94609-2011
510-653-8691
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tanjia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #224 of 1,064 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 49th Street
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Was up but now far, far down...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We've eaten in every Moroccan restaurant in the Bay Area over the last 35 yrs. In June 2011 we had a decent first dinner at Tanjia - the entrees were so-so, but the mixed platter starter and bastillas (we had both seafood and chicken) were very good. We returned in Jan 2012 to a terrible experience. The bastillas are made with semolina crepes, not filo or warka, and the edges are so tough I couldn't cut them with a knife! Fillings were bland and uninteresting.

Lamb cigars were well-filled but the lamb filling was so salty, it was almost inedible. Lamb & chicken dish had both badly overcooked. To top it off, the mint tea was unsweetened - heresy! We will go into SF for Moroccan food next time we want it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    2
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“still charging 9.75% sales tax instead of 8.75%”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Dined on 9-3-11. Food and service was good. Lamb w/prunes was lean and tender. Only complaint is that Tanjia has not decreased the sales tax charged from 9.75% to 8.75%. We and all customers were overcharged 1% on the total food bill. Does the restaurant keep the excess when they pay their sales tax to California? Everyone - check your bill and let the owner know if you are overcharged. California decreased the sales tax on July 1, 2011.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and entertainment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

We were excited to eat at Tanjia. The food wasnt very good at all. Very salty. Entertainment was too loud and not very good. Would not recommend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fun, Good Food & Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Great place for groups - had my b-day dinner here. They gave us a combo entree plate for each table which was great since then we could sample everything - and because my mom had set it up beforehand the food came quickly and was plentiful - great food & atmosphere especially for the price. Everyone said how much they liked the food & they will supply utensils if asked. Would definitely go again, especially with good friends. The wait staff was nice & explained what each of the dishes was. Parking at the nearby small shopping center was a cinch and the neighborhood felt quite safe and gentrified. Only downside - no changing tables in the bathroom (we had an infant in our party) and while well ventilated, the edges of the room got pretty warm, sit near the center by the ducts in the tent ceiling for a cooler dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thousand and one night in marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

If you want to experience the true moroccan cuisine with the fairy tale ambience of the thousand and one night, Le Tanjia is the perfect place to go. As the friendly waiters serve you delights from the chef such as vegetable pastilla, tanjia, couscous, you let yourself be enchanted by the belly dancers show.
On top of that the decoration is stunning.
Lajka

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.