We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food with lots of San francisco atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Tavern

Wood Tavern
6317 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618
(510) 654-6607
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,064 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alcatraz
Transit: Rockridge BART is 5 blocks away. A major thoroughfare for bus lines, including the 51 and 151
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with lots of San francisco atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderful all around experience. Food choices are tantalizing using products from neighborhood stores and producers. Sit near sliding glass windows which open right on the sidewalk with views and interchange with the passing scene of people and animals. Behind you is the wonderful bar noise with people drinking and eating at the bar. Dinner took 2 1/2 hours and it seemed to be too short.

Imaginative menu with the most tender Octopus and wonderful pasta with scrapping from lamb shoulder. Delightful crispy pork belly and absolutely marvelous gnocchi. All products purchased from neighboring merchants. Excellent wine with reasonable prices. I recommend the first red, a Sottimano from the Piemonte region of Italy

Only negative is noi pastry chef. All ice cream based desserts

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    67
    41
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
muzzle32
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went here with my fiance for my birthday dinner and was not disappointed. The service was wonderful, and I'm sorry that I do not remember my server's name to give him a shout-out. The bad-*** sidecars were indeed bad-***. The food was soooo good, especially the cheese and meat appetizer. My only disappointment was that their dessert list did not include creme brulee, my favorite. Oh well - I just had another sidecar instead. :) The price was also competitive, as a meal with two entrees, four drinks, and an appetizer ran about $100.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A meal to dream about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite place in Oakland/Berkeley. Relentlessly fresh, innovative cuisine that's never fussy or self-conscious. Casual atmosphere with attentive service. The four spots at the chef's table are the best seats in the house. It's a challenge but save room for dessert.
My only mark off is for the noise, which can make conversation difficult. Otherwise, it's perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noise Level 10+ so don't go there to talk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

it's an institution and well worth suffering through the noise. The menu is sophisticated/Tavern style and the service is exceptional. Try the Wood Tavern Manhatten - it's indescribable. Portions are excessive so sharing an entry is a good option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, long wait times to get in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was worth it to get in! Excellent food. The soup and salad was amazing and the pastrami was the best I have eaten since NYC. Excellent wine list and very nice urban upscale decor. Excellent service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.