We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Neighborhood Comfort Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Tavern

Wood Tavern
6317 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618
(510) 654-6607
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,067 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alcatraz
Transit: Rockridge BART is 5 blocks away. A major thoroughfare for bus lines, including the 51 and 151
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Creative Neighborhood Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of my favorites in the bay area. The food is always at least good, often excellent. The cocktails are varied and interesting. It's difficult for me to not order the pork belly appetizer whenever I go in because it's so good. I often have out of town guests request that we go there. Dinner is always very crowded so reservations are a good idea. I prefer to get there for lunch when it's less hectic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    68
    41
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We live right down the street from this fantastic restaurant. The food is always amazing. I'm a vegetarian, and I appreciate the chef always having something delicious on the menu for me, even though this place is known for their burgers!! The gnocchi is a great go-to. Always the perfect portions and a variety of flavors no matter how often you go. The only downside, sometimes getting a reservation at this popular establishment takes some in-advance planning. If you can get there close to opening (4:30 or 5) - the bar is open seating. They only have one large table, so going in a smaller group (2 or 4) is better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The selection of food is always great here. Very flavorful very tasty. soups are always spot on and not salty. salads are all very light and crisp. sandwiches for lunch are hardy. good portion. pastrami is amazing as are their seasonal sandwiches. fries are very crispy. carmel brownie is amazing as well. creamy. the only down side is go early because service gets slow if you are in a middle of rush for lunch or dinner and it gets loud.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Trendy, upscale bistro with killer looking food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice street front bistro. Pretty. See and be seen kinda place. Well rounded menu with sandwiches being best choice, cheese plate looks next and then what we had.

Quail looked good, and my cod sandwich was soggy and mushy. Nice idea, poor execution. Wine was good. Long wait, no excuses made.

$60 with a tip. Lunch.

I would return. I wouldn't think about this as my next choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've enjoyed every visit to wood tavern. The food is tasty stick-to-your-ribs kind of comfort food. It can be a little heavy, but the flavors and quality is great. Delicious cocktails. The owners aim for a comfortable neighborhood spot, and by succeeding, they've created a destination.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.