We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give less than 1 star?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Inn

Save Saved
You added Jack London Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jack London Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Embarcadero West, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can I give less than 1 star?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My recent stay at the Jack London Inn was, for lack of better words, less than desirable. The 'hotel' was not at all like what was represented on the Kayak website. I have images that I can share with you as proof of this filthy location. The room as I walked in was dirty, but as I looked around it only got worse. There were cigarette burns in the nightstand, desk, and table. There was what looked like someone was cooking something on the desk, I can assume that it was drugs with safe conscience. There were bodily stains and cigarette burns on the sheets. No blankets, not that I would have used one. The restroom was a disaster. There was one loop of paper around the toilet paper roll. When I attempted to use a tissue that was located in the side of the sink counter, I found only the tissue that was pulled out to display the tissues. One tissue. The sink counter and shower curtain were covered in what looked like someone broke a glow stick and waved it around the room. The bathtub was a nightmare. I was not able to take a shower in this room to prepare for a 7 hour flight back home. When I called down to the desk to ask for a fresh roll of toilet paper, I was told it would be right up. After 20 mins of waiting I walked down to the lobby to find some and also ask for some clean sheets. The person at the desk was a different person, he looked like a maintenance person that just happened to be passing through. This 'gentleman' said that it would be right up, and as I was walking to the elevator the person that I spoke to originally was walking in the door with an arm full of Chinese food. I can only assume that picking up his order was more important than assisting a paying customer. He agreed to retrieve the essentials for me and bring them up to my room. He set to it right away and even got in the elevator with me, enlisting a prostitute that was waiting in the lobby for her client to help him retrieve the sheet and toilet paper. I am an aspiring writer, but I can't make this stuff up. The only reason I didn't leave right away was that I didn't want to take my wife out into public this late at night in the terrible part of town that this hotel was located in. Did I mention the black stained washcloth that was neatly folded into the 'clean' towels left for us? I would like to add that I enjoy camping and have slept in and waded through mud in the jungle. I'm a tough it kind of guy. This was the most unsanitary experience of my life.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    15
    16
    86
See reviews for
25
29
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were placed in a back room with a view to the bins. The place smells smoke and it is not very well maintained. This was the last place were i use my credit card before the number was copied and used for an amount of 2.300 €; i don't want to mislead, but this is not the only comment on this issue for this hotel in may 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here mid-May 2013. Credit card info stolen and used in San Jose.Only time I used the card on that trip.
So I'm looking to book a room in Oakland and I read a review of this place (on Priceline) and a customer's review (from April, 2013) said that credit card info stolen and used in San Jose.
You cannot check in without a credit card so this may be the source of the theft of credit card info.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First of all, the lobby smelled like smoke. The guy behind the counter was nice and efficient. We got our key, Room# 308. When I opened the door, the first thing I noticed was the stained carpet. That turned me off. Then I saw the windows were also stained and dirty, I swear I didn't feel like touching anything!! The bedsheets looked like they had not been changed, the desk was full of white spots and the walls were an old yellow color. But the thing that pushed me over the edge was my partner screaming in horror. Why you ask? Well she was in the restroom and the toilet had stuck poop inside the bowl!!! GROSS!!!!! The toilet seat was stained a yellow/brown color. There's a vanity next to the bathroom that was stained by nail polish. For $95 a night I expect waaaayyyy more!!! I went back to the lobby, got my money and got the hell out! DON'T STAY HERE!!!!! p.s the pictures on the website did not match

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rooms are run down, but clean. Our biggest complaint was there were four of us in a room and they would NOT give us four towels, even after repeated requests. We stayed four nights. The one time we got the extra two towels, housekeeping had a horrible attitude. If you are looking for a bed and a shower this is a good hotel for the price, just do not expect to get any towels. It is right next to train tracks, but you get used to it and the smell of marijuana.

Room Tip: Ask for the back for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

In a place like the Bay area, it is difficult to give an objective opinion on price vs worth. So I will try to keep to the "facts".
I stayed here for 2 nights, using it strictly as a place for bed and shower.
The room is clean and the room cleanup is good. Linen is fresh and clean,
The bathroom is a bit old but the shower is good. The walls are thin, and expect to be woken up by early risers in other rooms.
I asked the front desk for tea bags, but they couldnt be bothered to get us any.
The hotel is very conveniently located, and is in a safe area of Oakland.

Room Tip: The pool level has lot of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This was certainly very close to the concert we went to at Yoshi's - we were able to walk to the show a block away and the bed was comfortable but the place is rundown! Felt safe and there is a 'chicken and waffles' diner next door. The front desk was. The front desk attentive with our need for an ironing board. Be prepared for no frills

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Inn

Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Oakland
Jack London Hotel
Jack London Oakland
Address: 444 Embarcadero West, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack London Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jack London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.