We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Inn

Save Saved
You added Jack London Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jack London Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Embarcadero West, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Meets expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

In a place like the Bay area, it is difficult to give an objective opinion on price vs worth. So I will try to keep to the "facts".
I stayed here for 2 nights, using it strictly as a place for bed and shower.
The room is clean and the room cleanup is good. Linen is fresh and clean,
The bathroom is a bit old but the shower is good. The walls are thin, and expect to be woken up by early risers in other rooms.
I asked the front desk for tea bags, but they couldnt be bothered to get us any.
The hotel is very conveniently located, and is in a safe area of Oakland.

Room Tip: The pool level has lot of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    15
    16
    86
See reviews for
25
29
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This was certainly very close to the concert we went to at Yoshi's - we were able to walk to the show a block away and the bed was comfortable but the place is rundown! Felt safe and there is a 'chicken and waffles' diner next door. The front desk was. The front desk attentive with our need for an ironing board. Be prepared for no frills

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

First, the rooms are disturbing... holes in the blankets.. holes in the curtains. . The room keys expire everyday... the doors broken... second: the two dudes were awesome... the red head. Worst attitude ever... not friendly. . And not willing to help at all.. the maintence man was cool.. not very family friendly because of the marijuana smokers... basically.. they attract the wrong crowd... we saved for this vacation... and made the best of it.. but would never come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was dirty. The room lighting was marginal. Sounds of trains going by in front kept us awake. It was just bad experience. Checked out the next morning. We expected it to be nearer to the Jack London waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, AL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this hotel online last week and stayed for a week, with my main priorities being bed, shower and cheapest price in a good, safe location. Jack London Inn didn't disappoint in that respect. It's a budget hotel, so I wasn't expecting much beyond that and was happily surprised by the experience. The room was clean and comfortable, free wi-fi (I was worried about that one because I live on my computer!), cable, nice, comfortable bed and a good working heater (did I mention how cold Oakland is?!) and the bathroom had everything I needed. Great water pressure and the hot water really took the chill out of my bones. I'm from Alabama and didn't quite prepare for how cold Northern California is. And I loved the location in Jack London Square. Lots of restaurants, clubs, and the waterfront along the Bay is beautiful with all the boats and the ferry to San Francisco. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven when I found a Ben & Jerry's two blocks down. Seriously, a shop that sells nothing but Ben & Jerry's ice cream, with a movie theater right across the street. And downtown Oakland and the BART station were an easy walk.

But the best part was that the room I was in had a sliding glass door that led onto a deck with lounge chairs and tables that overlooked the square and waterfront. Really great view. The trains were quaint running along right in front of the hotel, but the horns took some getting used to, so the employee at front desk in the lobby was nice enough to give me earplugs so I could sleep. I ended up not even needing them. Totally worth it!

Room Tip: Try to get something with a deck or balcony. They overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the service was courteous and professional. The hotel is old and can use some upgrading but all in all, it is clean and definitely worth the price. My room was comfortable and had the normal amenities of most hotels. I could hear train noise but the sound was not intolerable. Most hotels that I stay at have noise, either from other rooms or exterior. There was no breakfast but I don't like the food most hotels serve therefore no issue. the swimming pool was not operational but I do not swim in public pools. the exercise room had average exercise equipment. The linens in the room were clean. Checked out the bed for the little cridders and could not see any. Carpet was old but clean. I would stay here on my next visit to the area. Cannot beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Jack London Inn is the least costly hotel for miles and the rate includes parking. BUT the train tracks to the Port of Oakland and the Oakland AMTRAK station are in the middle of the street in front of the Inn. The first train passed within 15 minutes of my arrival. The trains blow their horn constantly. It was LOUD, but only one train. NO, there were many, one about every 15 minutes at some times. My room was on the front side second floor, likely the worst in the hotel. Back side rooms should be much quieter.

Now to the room, a cut below Motel 6. A fairly clean cheap motel when you need one and don't wish to spend more.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the hotel! The rooms on the front are VERY noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Inn

Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Oakland
Jack London Hotel
Jack London Oakland
Address: 444 Embarcadero West, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack London Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jack London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.