We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train station feeling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Inn

Save Saved
You added Jack London Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jack London Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Embarcadero West, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Train station feeling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is next to the train station and whenever the train passes by, it is incredible loud! And they start passing very early until late night.
Nothing is really working there, Only reason to go there are their promotions.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    15
    16
    89
See reviews for
26
29
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

First of all, at check in I wasn't asked for ID or credit card. Second, when I got to my room it smelled like weed and as if it hadn't been cleaned in months. Third, it didn't even have the basics. There was no toilet paper, no trash can, no towels and no ironing board or iron. The carpet was extremely dirty and had holes in it. Also, there was cigarette burns on the bed linens, carpet and curtains. Windows had no screens, light fixtures didn't work and there was NO WATER PRESSURE. The toilet didn't flush properly and it was impossible to shower. There was more water coming out of the sink faucet than the shower head.

When I asked for toilet paper and towels it took them soooo long to send somebody with the items that after an hour I went to the reception to pick them up myself. I asked about a trash can and iron and they said they would look for one but couldn't promise they could get one. They said there is trash cans in the hallways for us to use.

I'm sure I would have had a better experience at a half way house.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place was scary! I don't recommend staying there unless you're a hard core criminal looking for a place to do business. -WOW!
We have some photos but honestly to share them might me too much! Stay Away!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Hubby chose this based on some reviews but not sure which. Late arrival on Amtrak doesnt leave a lot of options. The hotel lobby was decent. Ugly upholstery but not worn out. Granite countertops at the registration desk and a very friendly, courteous and professional young man (thanks Manny!) working there. Larger than average well working elevators but as another couple joined us...this is where it went downhill. She stated they had already exchanged rooms because there was a mouse in their other room. One door along the hallway had the knob missing and paper towels stuffed into the holes. Worn carpet, chipping peeling paint. The room carpet was very worn, there was a place for an iron but no iron, the furniture was very, ahem, lightweight. I was going to swallow my pride and stay so i wanted to use the bathroom and go to bed. It was really hot so i turned on the air which began cooling the room surprisingly quickly, on my way to the bathroom, to my surprise there was a place for toilet paper but no toilet paper, then no soap/ shampoo and towels or wash clothes. An empty hole staring out where kleenex or at least a decorative cover for them should have been. The sheets looked clean, no sign of "bed bugs" as suggested in a previous review, there was no scatter of cockroaches when we entered the room and turned on the lights AND we saw no real signs of rodent activity. But we were uncomfortable so we called a cab and left. Credit is due for Manny, even when we stated we were leaving he maintained his professionalism and was very nice ensuring no charges to our card.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I've always trusted hotels.com to provide honest and accurate information. Shame on them for even listing the Jack London Inn! All the negative reviews on this site are true: filth, cockroaches, no towels, shampoo, or soap, locked windows, bed bugs, torn walls, noise from train, non working air...the list goes on. Unfortunately, we were there on graduation weekend for UC Berkeley and could not find a reasonably-priced hotel closer to campus (did I mention we paid $84 for the nightmarish experience?). How can I get my money back?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This place is nasty!!! Walked into the room....l didn't even last 2 min. Left running! After booking a room at another hotel in the area, I found out it was the second dirtiest hotels in the country. On the positive side, they didn't try to charge me. Nobody could be that desperat, my advice......if you can't find anywhere else to stay.....sleeping in your car is best!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

this hotel, with a promotion and a military discount, was literally 90 dollars total for three nights for a room with 2 queens, a flatscreen tv, and fast free wifi. We had 5 people staying here, so broken down that equals six dollars a night each. six dollars! for the bay area! we read all of the scary reviews of others and brought blankets and towels and ended up not even needing them. our toilet didnt work consistently but every time we called the desk someone was up and fixed it (and cracked jokes, and were friendly and sweet) within 5 minutes. as for the "crack heads/drug dealers/prostitutes" nobody bothered us, in fact everyone we ran in to in the lobby and elevator was extremely nice and eager to give us advice of what to do while in oakland, or left us alone. our room was exactly the same quality as what you would get at any other budget hotel. the jack london is close to the bart, the chicken/waffles restaurant below it was great, and it cost almost nothing to stay here. we enjoyed the jack london inn and the city of oakland!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Inn

Address: 444 Embarcadero West, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jack London Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Jack London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Oakland
Jack London Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.