We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Korean Barbecue That You Prepare Yourself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohgane Korean BBQ Restaurant

Ohgane Korean BBQ Restaurant
3915 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94611-5615
510-594-8300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Korean Barbecue That You Prepare Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want to eat authentic Korean barbecue surrounded by Korean families Ohgane is the place for you. The servers all speak English and will help first timers. We fortunately had a Korean American friend who showed us how to use the grill in the center of the table to finish off beef, chicken and pork strips. Complements were all good and tasty. Staff was friendly although a bit overwhelmed with the Saturday night family crowd.

The hands on experience was the best and the 72 hour marinated beef the best among the three meats we tried. I would recommend highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Liking this place very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Been here a few times with friends (including Korean native) and have always thoroughly enjoyed the food and service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“so many kimchi little plates, yummy!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I love Korean BBQ and this is one of the best places to go to, not only for all the beef and pork dishes but for the variety of kimchi. Option to cook at your table or the kitchen so everyone is happy :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Yukejang (Korean spicy beef soup)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have eaten Yukejang in Korea and this place is better. I think LA still has better Korean bbq however the spicy beef soup here is the best. The service is very good as well and caters to foreigners.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“In case you were wondering, this is not exactly a charcoal BBQ restaurant. They put a few pieces of burnt out charcoal...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

In case you were wondering, this is not exactly a charcoal BBQ restaurant. They put a few pieces of burnt out charcoal over a gas grill to simulate the charcoal flavor. I have been to a few Korean restaurants where they do this. Food was very good, especially the small appetizer dishes. It was a bit pricey though, otherwise I would have given them 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohgane Korean BBQ Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ohgane Korean BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohgane Korean BBQ Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.