We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
New Jersey
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Only needed a room for one night before a morning flight. The front desk attendants were very courteous and helpful. We needed extra towels and blankets and they were at the room in 5 minutes. The breakfast buffet had a good selection - love those waffles! The complimentary shuttle was great. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    34
    19
    16
See reviews for
32
32
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

I should have listened to the other reviewers! Worst Fairfield I've ever stayed in. Was attending an event at the Oracle Arena, which was awesome. Unfortunately, the night ended on a low note when I got back to the hotel.

Pros: Very professional and efficient check in. Thought I got a great deal on a relatively inexpensive room. They made guests sign not only a no-smoking clause, but also a no-partying-after-1000-PM agreement. I thought that was a nice touch and that I'd get a night's sleep. Should have turned and run. Breakfast bar is typical Fairfield, with Jimmy Dean Sausage breakfast sandwiches, cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, juices.

Cons: Many too many to list, from the dirty room and thin towels, to the non-working thermostat, to the noise (yes, even after 1000 PM), to the scary location. They do have a night security guard at the front entrance who logs vehicles in; however, that does nothing to keep the miscreants that are staying there. Had folks drinking out of plastic cups (containing who knows what) and smoking pot outside my window, loudly (yes, remember the thermostat and A/C didn't work). Business center is a computer and printer set against a wall in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We selected this hotel for it's location and price. The room was good sized, and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast had a good variety.

The staff is very friendly and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Liked — location to family
  • Disliked — Location, the neighborhood
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night holiday stay while visiting relatives. Service was spot on and genuinely caring. The room was spacious and clean with many extras that made us realize we packed and carted around more than necessary. Breakfast was a great beginning to our day and the location was convenient to all the attractions we wanted to see during our brief stay. An added plus was the sports pub, perfect for the evening night cap.

  • Liked — Location, accommodations, service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

This is an extremely well-run hotel with nice rooms. The wireless internet actually worked well (gasp!!!) too. The staff was unfailingly terrific--from shuttle driver to front desk to breakfast hostess; they practically acted like concierges with help with taxis, suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing, etc.

HOWEVER. I came to watch some baseball at McAfee. The hotel promos on the 'net say it's "walking distance" to the stadium. True--but you have to "walk" through a veritable combat zone. Beggars and scary characters abound. Indeed, I was solicited by a prostitute on the walk back to the hotel after a thursday night game. Ick. Triple Ick.

It's a bad, bad neighborhood, so be careful. I would not recommend this hotel for folks who want to watch baseball, despite proximity.

Hotel has very good security, though.

  • Liked — excellent staff
  • Disliked — seedy neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Oakland Airport Fairfield Inn prior to a morning flight home from California. We found it much easier to fly into and out of the Oakland airport vs. San Francisco.

There is a complimentary shuttle that runs between the hotel and the airport every 30 minutes from very early in the morning to late at night. We were able to check into the hotel, drop our rental car off at the airport, take the car rental shuttle to the terminal and then the hotel's shuttle back to the hotel the night before our flight. This saved us about $50 that otherwise would have been charged for an additional day's use of the rental car.

The hotel has an indoor pool and whirlpool, along with a small sports bar. Breakfast is included in the room rate and includes ready-to-make waffles, micorwavable Jimmy Dean breakfast entrees and a selection of cereal, bagels and toast.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

A friend and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn Oakland Airport in April while in town for a sporting event. The hotel and staff were nice enough but I would discourage anyone from staying here based on the very seedy area it is in. We were constantly asked for money while walking to get food or to the store. There was also an abandoned hotel nearby that always had a car hidden behind some bushes where people were going back and forth. If I go back to this area again, I'll be staying in San Francisco.

  • Liked — Good breakfast choices and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Horrible neighborhood
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.