We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let Surroundings Scare You” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Summit, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't Let Surroundings Scare You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was in town to go to an Oakland A's game. This hotel is situated about 3/4 mile from o.co coliseum. There is a Clarion property, situated next door to this Comfort inn, that has closed and the local artist have worked quit heavily on. That property is now fenced and security is on duty. That being said, the Comfort Inn was a very clean, comfortable accommodation. At no time did we feel threatened while here. The breakfast was adequate and well stocked. Staff was courteous and helpful. The only thing that would have made it better would have been shuttle service to and from O.CO Coliseum. They offered shuttle service to the airport only. We felt safe walking to the game(in daylight) but caught a ride back after dark. If attending a game or a function at Oracle Coliseum, this is very convenient at reasonable price. Do not let the looks of some of the surroundings scare you away. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the shut down Clarion. At this time no construction or anything, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    28
    18
    14
See reviews for
29
27
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed the night before our flight out of Oakland. They give up to 14 days parking, we parked for 10 days. It does cost a little more to include the parking but its well worth it. The room was a good size. There is free wifi and a free breakfast included. The breakfast had scrabble eggs, sausage, waffles, coffee, orange juice, bagels and much more. The Oakland A's and Oakland Raider's play their games close-by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Wow! Shockingly surprised. Free wifi, parking and breakfast? Unheard of in this market these days. Stayed two nights. The area is right next to the coliseum. One mile to the Bart station which has free parking to take the train into SF. There are
not many places to dine, BUT there is a quaint street called Park in Alameda less than 5 miles away that has a great "Main Street" feel with a plethora of great restaurants. Safe. Easy parking or taxi ride. This stay gave me a whole new outlook on The Oakland Airport area. Not fancy. But, incredibly comfy. 4 beds on each bed. Super!

Room Tip: Worth every penny. 3rd floor very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Our entire team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable. It is always a rewarding experience when we receive feedback from our guests. We look forward to your next visit again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great stay. I must admit I was worried based on the area but it was awesome. Front desk staff fantastic. I'm a diamond member, I know fantastic when I experience it. Check this out. This is the only hotel I've been in that actually has a fitness center,whirlpool and sauna all on the same place and available 24/7. Now try finding that elsewhere,I dare you !!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Never been to Oakland and was told I was crazy for staying on Edes Ave. Stayed here one night returning from business. The area is not very good at all but once in the hotel the staff was very friendly, especially the night bar tender. The bed was clean and very comfortable. There is some updating that needs to be done within the bathrooms, but the room was clean. The breakfast was very good and attended to well. My overall stay was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a trip back up to Berkeley for Cal Day. Room was clean and as expected, albeit for a slight musty smell. Check-in was extremely fast and friendly. Area isn't so great around hotel but felt safe. There was a homeless person parked out front by the driveway but we had no problems while at the hotel. We didn't get to enjoy the complimentary breakfast because we had to leave before they opened but it looked good. Only about 15 mins away from UC Berkeley, which was a plus, without having to pay for a more expensive room for only a one-night turn around trip. A safe option in an otherwise sometimes bit scary area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Recommended as an alternate to staying in San Francisco. Value for money was definitely there. Close enough to drive into San Francisco, very close for nfl or nba fans catching a game. Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice free breakfast. Don't walk these streets at night though, the hotel next door is abandoned and seems to be the local hang out for trouble.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Comfort Inn And Suites
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.