We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“its ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

the room was clean but the staff was not very friendly and the sink in our bathroom was leaking and it took them 2 days to fix it if you are visiting san francisco i would stay in san francisco this place is kinda far from the pier and you have to pay $4-6 to go over the bay bridge each day the nabiorhood is ok but its very close to some sketchy areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    34
    18
    16
See reviews for
31
31
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Magalia, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who needs a sleep before an early flight. It was clean and comfortable. We had to leave before breakfast was served...one thing that would be nice would be to have coffee ready for early departures.

Room Tip: I was on ground floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

By no means a luxury hotel or located in a great area but hotel serves the purpose if you want to save some money from staying at more expensive San Francisco hotels, especially if you are driving (use the money you save for renting a car!). We were able to use it as our home base for going to different cities, besides San Francisco and Napa Valley, even went to an Oakland A's game right down the road! Free parking; breakfast, wi-fi and daily newspaper included. Right off the freeway ramp! Several shopping malls/ restaurants within a few miles. Hotel probably needs some fresh painting and new furniture in some areas, but our room was very clean, with a small refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, nice flat tv, and nice roomy bathroom with great shower head and plenty of vanity space for toiletries. Staff was very nice and friendly. Couldn't ask for more for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My friends and I stay in that area when we travel from SLT, CA for the concerts across the street. It's close and easy. I had just stayed in August and realized after a day or 2 that I left an entire outfit there. When I called, their staff had my items and made it easy to receive them. Thank you for an honest and efficient staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was nice but the picture of the bar and restaurant must be from some other place. They were nowhere near the same as the picture online. They were very small and not much on the menu. Apparently if you register online it makes it difficult for the the staff to understand how to book you into your room that you already payed for online. They want you to pay again when you arrive. The free parking is a LIE!!!!! They make you pay for the parking. It is not what you expect. We were told we could leave our vehicle for the extent of our trip. Their version of free parking is while you stay at the Hotel not leave your vehicle there for the length of your trip via Oakland Airport. One staff member said dont worry about the billing the next lady that comes in to work the desk will know how to fix it. Why doesnt she? My advice bring an extra 100 dollars for misc. expenses and also go to the Holiday Inn on Hagenburger for your dining pleasure they serve great meals. We were very pleased with their food and service. One other good thing to come via Comfort Inn was the Shuttle service the drivers were very good and on time.

Room Tip: Choose Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Fitness room was small but clean, open 24 hours. Hot tub and sauna, but no pool. Reception desk friendly and efficient. Room well equipped, fridge, etc. Boring breakfast: reconstituted eggs, thin orange juice. Waffle was good, but the tacky plastic knife and fork were not strong enough to cut it-- picked it up and ate it like pizza. "Business center" computer was slow and had unfamiliar software-- I got nowhere with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Initial reaction when rolling in at midnight was good. Security guard greeted me. The front desk staff greeted me by name (last reservation probably had something to do with this), and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. No issues with a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.