We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Clean room and good beds. Breakfast was a joke as many other people have stated here. They miss a lot of items and can´t refill it quick enough as the breakfast goes by. Location totally OK. Service was a mixed experience. When we arrived the smoke detector made a high pitched "beep" noise every second minute. Called the front desk to get it fixed since it was late and we wanted to sleep (checked in at 10:30 pm). Was told that the maintenance guy had gone for the day and the motel was fully booked so they could not do anything. Totally unacceptable answer, this defeats the purpose of booking a motel for a place to sleep! Went down to the front desk to get my money refunded and move to another motel. But this time the manager (I think so) were there. I explained the situation and she upgraded us to a suits for both nights we had booked. That is good service! Unfortunate that I had to go down to make that happen. Still giving this a 4 out 5 due to good beds and clean rooms (what I look for when I travel). A little bit noisy, but nothing that ear buds don´t fix (you should know this average travelers...)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    27
    18
    14
See reviews for
27
27
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was greeted rather rudely and things didn't get much better. This is the first time I've ever stayed in a motel that says it has a coffee maker in each room, which it did, but didn't have coffee or condiments in the room. When I asked, I was told it was the "new" policy. I wish they'd update their website. The AC didn't work and was told the manager comes in at 11 and leaves at 2. I was also told, rather rudely, that maintenance comes in only on Mondays. I think that said it all. Breakfast was a joke. Most of the items were missing and I was told they were in the oven, since they were frozen having just been delivered. Need I say more. This is a poorly maintained, poorly managed, with rude employees. Oh brother! What a loser!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times. The staff here are friendly, rooms, are way better than I expected, I always get a suite, and only problem I had is the elevator not working. There's a bar right down stairs in the lobby, but I dont drink, also you may order room service. Location is perfect if you have an early flight or train, also convenient and near the Oakland Coliseum. Noise level, is ok. Noise does'nt bother me anyway, but weekends are their most busiest..

Room Tip: Second & third floor rooms are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCalif
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Based upon many hundreds of hotels I have experienced, this place is shiny but poor and I'd not stay again.

The initial impression was good, with nice curb appeal, but the desk staff is less than helpful and management is not available. NOT for any reason, it seems, except in varying hours, midday when hardly any guests would be there.

The room was okay with minimal amenities Actually, the first morning the (heavy) continental breakfast was surprisingly good. That, however, was an aberration, as the next three days there was always some major component missing; like bagels but no creme cheese; no eggs, but links; no fruit; .minimal cold cereal (4-5 servings, with 10people in the room). Seems they can only stock items one day a week. I found the breakfast attendant in his back room, sipping coffee, while the main room had NO COFFEE, nor many other items, like bread for toast, and more. this same staffer refused my wife any breakfast at all, despite her arriving over an hour prior to their posted close.

Asking at the front desk for a manager, as I'd paid $10/day extra for my son's breakfast, I got 'attitude' and absolutely no apology, nor any action to resolve it, echoing at least one other review.

The parking lot is high-fenced with barbed and concertina wire at the top. Need I say more about the area?

I can understand things popping up but cannot understand a don't care attitude by the staff; apparently set by the manager, IF there really is one. I relied a LOT on these reviews and 2 1/2 stars overall is too generous; probably bogus reviews.

I gave it two stars due to the shiny, alone. Staff and management rate a zero.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Cheaper and better is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTTSDALE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Checked in last Friday it is now Thursday of the following week. Out of order since checking in: 1. an elevator (there are two) 2. womens bathroom in lobby 3. In room refridgerator 4. in room hair dryer. 5. both washers and one dryer in the laundry. Wi Fi is almost non exsistence. TV channel selection limited. Cleaning of the common areas is sub par as is the morning "hot" breakfast. Staff in uninterested in attending to guests as it seems to interfere with their computer and phone talking time. Pluses it is very close to Bart. It is not gross yet but with the maintenance and cleaning crew and the upkeep as it is not so sure what it would be like in 6 months or a year. Also in a very sketchy (ghetto) neighborhood. Probably would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We recently stayed one night at this hotel and left our vehicle for two weeks. The hotel was clean and everything in the room worked fine. The bed was a little old and it is an older property that has been updated, but not recently. Staff was helpful. It is not a hotel I would want to stay in for recreation but it was excellent for one night. The parking was good, the vehicle was perfect when we returned, and they have security at night. The shuttle to and from the airport was clean, efficient, and on time both to and from the airport. I would definitely use this hotel again for park and fly. The rate was the best we found for 2 weeks of parking. It included breakfast, which was adequate and very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great location. Little or no WIFI, a usual thing I finding at this chain, not a priority with them. When showering, water temp up and down no matter what time of day. TV, 18 channels, two with no sound and 6 spanish speaking leaving 10 channels to chose from. Room temp control failed to maintain a constant temp. will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Comfort Inn And Suites
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.