We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times. The staff here are friendly, rooms, are way better than I expected, I always get a suite, and only problem I had is the elevator not working. There's a bar right down stairs in the lobby, but I dont drink, also you may order room service. Location is perfect if you have an early flight or train, also convenient and near the Oakland Coliseum. Noise level, is ok. Noise does'nt bother me anyway, but weekends are their most busiest..

Room Tip: Second & third floor rooms are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    33
    18
    16
See reviews for
31
28
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SoCalif
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Based upon many hundreds of hotels I have experienced, this place is shiny but poor and I'd not stay again.

The initial impression was good, with nice curb appeal, but the desk staff is less than helpful and management is not available. NOT for any reason, it seems, except in varying hours, midday when hardly any guests would be there.

The room was okay with minimal amenities Actually, the first morning the (heavy) continental breakfast was surprisingly good. That, however, was an aberration, as the next three days there was always some major component missing; like bagels but no creme cheese; no eggs, but links; no fruit; .minimal cold cereal (4-5 servings, with 10people in the room). Seems they can only stock items one day a week. I found the breakfast attendant in his back room, sipping coffee, while the main room had NO COFFEE, nor many other items, like bread for toast, and more. this same staffer refused my wife any breakfast at all, despite her arriving over an hour prior to their posted close.

Asking at the front desk for a manager, as I'd paid $10/day extra for my son's breakfast, I got 'attitude' and absolutely no apology, nor any action to resolve it, echoing at least one other review.

The parking lot is high-fenced with barbed and concertina wire at the top. Need I say more about the area?

I can understand things popping up but cannot understand a don't care attitude by the staff; apparently set by the manager, IF there really is one. I relied a LOT on these reviews and 2 1/2 stars overall is too generous; probably bogus reviews.

I gave it two stars due to the shiny, alone. Staff and management rate a zero.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Cheaper and better is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTTSDALE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Checked in last Friday it is now Thursday of the following week. Out of order since checking in: 1. an elevator (there are two) 2. womens bathroom in lobby 3. In room refridgerator 4. in room hair dryer. 5. both washers and one dryer in the laundry. Wi Fi is almost non exsistence. TV channel selection limited. Cleaning of the common areas is sub par as is the morning "hot" breakfast. Staff in uninterested in attending to guests as it seems to interfere with their computer and phone talking time. Pluses it is very close to Bart. It is not gross yet but with the maintenance and cleaning crew and the upkeep as it is not so sure what it would be like in 6 months or a year. Also in a very sketchy (ghetto) neighborhood. Probably would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We recently stayed one night at this hotel and left our vehicle for two weeks. The hotel was clean and everything in the room worked fine. The bed was a little old and it is an older property that has been updated, but not recently. Staff was helpful. It is not a hotel I would want to stay in for recreation but it was excellent for one night. The parking was good, the vehicle was perfect when we returned, and they have security at night. The shuttle to and from the airport was clean, efficient, and on time both to and from the airport. I would definitely use this hotel again for park and fly. The rate was the best we found for 2 weeks of parking. It included breakfast, which was adequate and very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great location. Little or no WIFI, a usual thing I finding at this chain, not a priority with them. When showering, water temp up and down no matter what time of day. TV, 18 channels, two with no sound and 6 spanish speaking leaving 10 channels to chose from. Room temp control failed to maintain a constant temp. will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel for several reasons. Close to the airport with a shuttle, close to the Amtrak Station at the Coliseum and mostly because the gal who answered when I called with questions was so dang nice. Got in at midnight and left at 6:30a so can't review much. The desk gal was nice - and still on duty in the morning. Room was a mini suite and very comfortable. Had a good workout in the excersize room open 24 hours and thre is a killer spread for breakfast. Never did use the shuttle because a friend picked us up on both arrival and departure. A lifelong Oakland resident, he refused to leave us at ate unmanned Amtrak platform at the Coliseum, and instead drove us a few miles away to the station at Jack London Square which was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our car stayed a lot longer than we did - we stayed only 9 hours. But our short stay was just what it should have been. The bed was comfortable. The towels and bedding were nothing special but good enough. The room was spacious and clean. There is a microwave and a small refrigerator. It is probably a good place to stay for business travel with a desk and good wifi. The desk staff was efficient. We left too early to try the breakfast. The shuttle to the airport was on time. We would certainly stay here the next time we have an early flight out of Oakland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.