We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Personel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   66 Airport Access Road, Oakland, CA 94603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Front Desk Personel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travel on business to Oakland at least once a week. I will always choose the HIE on Airport Access Rd. The personel at the front desk are always helpful, quick and efficient. I would especially like to point out Hitika (Giants fan) and Kristy (Warriors fan) and their friendly interaction with the guests arriving. Their personalities alone are almost enough to stay here.
But the rooms are always clean and quiet and love the mornings with the coffee and breakfast while watching all the excited people getting ready for vacation out of Oakland or the diversity of people getting ready for the days business. Great place to stay!
Jim F.
Fresno

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room. They always seem to help when asked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jim,

Your compliments of our staff, especially Hitika and Kristy were so thoughtful and well said. Thank you, I will convey your sentiments to them. I am glad that your like our clean rooms and our tasty continental breakfast, which is a big hit with our travelers.

Your business is important to us, thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Oakland!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    99
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
72
60
36
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when we were returning from Hawaii to the mainland. It was a good choice for us as all we desired was a very clean room, a comfortable bed, a speedy shuttle pickup at the airport, quick checkin service, good water pressure in the shower, and plenty of pillows and clean towels. The hotel delivered in every area and we were very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a flattering and comprehensive review of our hotel. We understand that the details can be the difference between a mediocre hotel and an outstanding one, so we are always striving to excel with the small things as well as the big. Your description covered them all.

We appreciate your choosing our hotel and we hope that you can come back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed here and once for a very extended stay. The service personnel (Yenny, thank you!!) were great, the shuttle service excellent (Patrick does a great job!! thank you!!). The breakfast is good and always replenished promptly; the staff will do everything to please you!! The General manager (Vickie) was very helpful and made our stay extremely pleasant. Actually, the ENTIRE staff was exemplary.

Co-workers also stayed at times and were very satisfied.

There were also no billing issues even with this multi-month stay.

The value was great. I paid twice what I paid here in nearby Emeryville at one of the 'highly" rated hotels and paid for parking and breakfast and received far less value for my money.

We are seasoned business travelers and know the difference.

Recommended

Room Tip: No pool but does have a hot tube. There are various delivery services with differing cuisines. Quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so proud of our team and the high level of customer service they provide our guests, so your acknowledgement is wonderful to hear. I will let our staff know how much their efforts are appreciated. Your comments about the smooth billing process is quite a compliment considering the length of your stay.

The value we offer is considerable, when you take into account the extras like the free parking, continental breakfast, shuttle service, etc. Thank you for choosing our hotel for "your home away from home”.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Been staying here for a while now. Vicky was very pleasant and took care of us. . Its a really great location so close to airport, golf and Franchescos which is my favorite place to eat. i really hope they decide to bring back the happy hour at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. I will pass along your compliments to Vicky. Many of our guests really like our convenient location, close to entertainment and dining.

Regarding our happy hour, we noticed the number of guests that were actually utilizing our reception significantly decreased as those guests chose to dine out instead at the great restaurants in the surrounding area, hence our discontinuation of that service.


Please visit us again soon, when you are in the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahuku, Hawaii
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The rooms are okay. My AC wasn't working properly, but since I was there for only one night it didn't matter to me. There's a nice little continental breakfast starting at 6:30am. Got a little bite to eat before leaving. There's a complimentary shuttle to and from Oakland airport. My driver Patrick was simply fantastic. He told me a lot about the hotel and the greater Oakland area. Great conversations and he has great attention to service detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear beans1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the air condition and the limited breakfast. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Clean rooms, helpful front desk staff. Forgot some personal items at home, they provided toothbrush, toothpaste and razors. We had a delay with our flights and had to stay another night without any reservations. Even with a booked hotel, they provided accommodations seamlessly with check in as easy as pie. Our shuttle drivers Clarence and James were the best and there to help with anything we needed even offering to shuttle us to dinner reservations.
Our only hiccup was the remote for the TV...they worked with us to get it just right.
Thanks for a great stay. Whenever we are back in the area, we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a nice review of our hotel! I am happy that we were able to accommodate your family with the unexpected glitch in your travels. I will convey your compliments to the staff, especially Clarence and James. Our team enjoys assisting our guests, so they will be glad to hear your expression of appreciation.

Thank you again for staying with us, come back soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is close to the Oakland Airport. Unless you have a GPS it may be difficult to find it especially in the night since it lies at the intersection of several freeways. There was a strange odor as we approached the hotel but inside everything was fine. Our bed was comfortable.

We got a room apparently intended for the physically challenged. The shower head was an adjustable handheld one but if was difficult to turn it on or to hang it back! We took our showers holding the head in one hand.

Although the hotel advertises free hot breakfast, much of the fare is heated packaged stuff. Nevertheless if you have to catch an early morning flight etc., the convenience of this hotel cannot be beat since they also provide free shuttle service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms for the disabled if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you found our hotel conveniently located, the shuttle timely and the bed comfortable. We take our guest’s comments seriously, so I will investigate the functionality of the showers in the accessible rooms. Thank you for choosing our hotel. I hope that we were able to make your journey more enjoyable, that is our goal.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport

Address: 66 Airport Access Road, Oakland, CA 94603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the closest hotel to the Oakland International Airport and centrally located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley.We welcome all guests either for work or play. Less than half a mile from the Oakland International Airport and just one mile from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum & Oracle Arena- home to the Oakland Raiders, the Oakland Athletics and the Golden State Warriors, you can really enjoy the home field advantage. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave, wet bar, refrigerator & high-speed Internet access wired and wireless connections.We also serve a delicious hot buffet breakfast every morning, and we have a Manager's Reception served in our Lobby area on Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday from 5:30 PM until 7:30 PM.We are 100% non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Hotel Oakland
Oakland Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.