We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   66 Airport Access Road, Oakland, CA 94603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quick Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good Area, Clean and friendly staff. Staff was quick and efficent in responding to room service calls. Provided complimentary necessities such as toothbrush and tooth paste. Also gave tips on surrounding areas and where I could purchase last minute things I needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your favorable review of our responsive service and cleanliness and was so nice to hear. I am glad that our staff was able to help you with those last minute travel needs and information about our neighborhood. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the Bay Area and will chose the Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport for your next trip.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    87
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
53
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel this week of Feb 25 and was amazed by the front desk staff's (Ms. Y and others) friendliness and readiness to help with miscellaneous needs. The shuttle driver, Mr. P, was great. I will certainly come back at this hotel on my next trip to Oakland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Winnie,

How nice to hear all those compliments about our staff, especially Ms. Y and Mr. P. We think we have a great team that takes really good care of our guests. I will convey your appreciation to them, they will enjoy receiving the kudos.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope you come back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wwe have stayed at this Holiday inn express before, so we liked it. It is in a great location. The rooms are nice sized, and very clean. The front desk staff is friendly. They also give you a list of nearby restaurants and shops. I find that very helpful. They do have the holiday inn express breakfast, which is always nice. Our only issue with the hotel is the housekeeping staff. We have a late checkout. they should know this, yet at 8:13 in the morning the head of housekeeping is knocking on the door. Really 8:13. yes we were up, but some guest might not be. What happens if you have a baby. Plus we have a late check out, can't you read the paper work that states that. To be fair, the rooms are very clean, and everything is in it's proper order.
All in all this hotel is great, we will be back because the good does out weigh the poor housekkeeping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms, helpful front desk staff and complimentary breakfast. I regret that our housekeeping department disturbed you. I can assure you that I will share your comments with our staff so that they avoid similar situations in the future.

We appreciate your business very much. I hope that you choose to visit us again. Please contact me personally, so that I can ensure that you have a comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We rent conference space here every month and alot of our students stay at this hotel . It's a good solid hotel .

The only downside is no real food options within walking area , although I have heard m students say that the shuttle has been willing to drop them off from time to time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your business very much.

There are many dining options in the area and a few within walking distance, please feel free to call me so I can offer some suggestions that you might enjoy.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Quiet, clean, helpful staff with an airport shuttle and easy access to major freeways, the Holiday Inn Express is your no hassle entry to the East Bay. The free breakfast was standard fare, but very fresh.

Room Tip: The more quiet rooms are "by the wall" on the even numbered side of the hallway, ie. #380...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our hotel’s location, cleanliness and our shuttle service are intended to minimize travel stress. I am glad we were able to make your trip more enjoyable. I will share your comment about our “helpful staff”, they will be pleased to hear it.

Thank you for staying with us, visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We could not have picked a better location to stay for our 2013 New Years trip. This is a great place to stay if you are looking for an affordable and well taken care of hotel that’s not too far to be able to make a day trip to San Francisco.

Our four night stay here was greatly enhanced by the friendly staff who didn’t mind giving us a ride on the hotel shuttle to the nearest BART station, and the amazing variety of choices provided by the daily complimentary breakfast. Our clean, comfortable, spacious one bed hotel room, complete with a small living room, kitchen sink, fridge, microwave, and cozy bed made us feel at home after coming home from a long day of sightseeing around the bay.

We were so impressed with the positive impact that the hotel had on our trip, and not to mention our budget, that when we decided to stay one more night, it was a decision that was easy to make. We look forward to staying here at the next opportunity we can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Milo,

We really appreciate your comprensive and complimentary review of our hotel. I am glad that our shuttle service to the BART station made your sightseeing adventures more pleasant. Your description of the size and comfort of the rooms as well as the variety of our breakfast food offerings was so well said.

We hope that you come back to the Bay Area soon. There is so much to see and do here and we would be happy to give you more suggestions for your explorations.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Was staying there for about 5-6 days in total due to deciding my next travel destination. Front desk person in charge were so friendly to me and the cleaners too.
General manager, whom i dont know her name, but she was Hispanic, made my entire travel plan to be stuck. Long story short, had a flight to Dubai yest, at 3.45pm. So, i had 3 big luggages with me and did a two round trip to the BART station by the shuttle service provided by them. The driver was nice and helpful and Christy, at the front desk was helpful too. During the second round for the shuttle to drop my bag at the BART station, the so called General Manager came to drop my bag and i thought that im good to go. She said, You need to come with me to the hotel to clear your payment off. So, i was like ????????? The matter of fact is that the credit card payment didnt accept for one night charge. I dodmt have much cash with me because i paid for my baggage storage at the airport. And, i tried calling my family and friends back at home and the worst is, its about 2am in the morning for them. Couldnt get hold of anyone. So, she SNAPPED my passport and told me, i trust you and letting you to go in a way you dont wish to hear. When i asked her why she took my passport copu, she said in order fot her to complain to my freaking embassy for not paying $120 when i had made a fee of $500++. And she did a very cheap move by taking up all the money i had with me in my wallet for about $32. How cheap is that ??
If at all, anyone at the front desk did this, it is still acceptable because they are not so ecperienced but for a hotel GENERAL MANAGER to do this, i feel like she has a very low standard and not professional at all. In short, SHE made me to miss my damn flight to Dubai by costing me a penalty fee of $520 to my airlines. She should be happy right now. I am well travelled and syayed in numerous hotel but never once come across this kind of situation. Will never advice anyone to stay there. GENERAL MANAGER should be changed to keep up the hotel quality or else customers will leave negative feedback. I have also noticed that she was being very bossy towarde her staffs and the way she potraits herself. I have stayed in Hard Rock, Sheraton Sukhumvit, Hyatt and i even talked to their General Managers, they were so down to earth and polite. But by being in a not so top class hotel, and giving a customer this kind of feedback, it is totally ridiculous and cant be accepted.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Nish080,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Oakland.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport

Address: 66 Airport Access Road, Oakland, CA 94603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the closest hotel to the Oakland International Airport and centrally located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley.We welcome all guests either for work or play. Less than half a mile from the Oakland International Airport and just one mile from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum & Oracle Arena- home to the Oakland Raiders, the Oakland Athletics and the Golden State Warriors, you can really enjoy the home field advantage. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave, wet bar, refrigerator & high-speed Internet access wired and wireless connections.We also serve a delicious hot buffet breakfast every morning, and we have a Manager's Reception served in our Lobby area on Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday from 5:30 PM until 7:30 PM.We are 100% non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Hotel Oakland
Oakland Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.