We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for San Francisco event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   66 Airport Access Road, Oakland, CA 94603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay for San Francisco event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I came to town for a San Francisco event but there were no rooms in the immediate area. I stayed in Oakland since it was close to the airport and it turned out to be a good choice. The room was very nice. My top three favorite features--plenty of electrical outlets near the desk, excellent wireless signal strength and a nice bathroom. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. Free shuttle to and from the airport and to local restaurants or other local stops. This hotel is close to the BART station and the shuttle takes you there. In the evening they served fresh baked cookies and serve free breakfast in the morning. My only gripe is that there are hardly any restaurants around here and those that are here are pretty mediocre. That being said, my stay was very enjoyable and I would definitely stay here again next time I am in the Bay area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your kudos for our hotel, regarding the service, location and amenities were well received by our staff. I am glad that our shuttle service was convenient for you. There could be other restaurant selections in our neighborhood that we can provide you with on your next visit to our hotel that may be more to your liking. Please feel free to contact me at 510.569.4400, so that I can assist you.

Thank you for making the Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport your Bay Area home away from home.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    113
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
85
72
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed there for a concert at the nearby Oracle Arena. It was a great choice for the hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport or any point within 3 miles of the hotel. They also provided us with bottled water at checkin. Unfortunately didn't have a chance to eat breakfast but had read great things. Overall would recommend. Room was clean, safe and liked the sitting area in my King room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad that our hotel’s location was so convenient for your concert at the Oracle Arena. Our shuttle service is designed to eliminate transportation costs and hassle for our guests, so that’s great that it was of value to you.

Our breakfast is another favorite amenity of our guests. I hope that you can sample our goodies on your next visit with us.

Our thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. My room faced the airport. I was so impressed the windows were so good that I never heard any planes. My room was very clean and the service was friendly! The cinammon rolls at the free breakfast are the bomb.com too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your complimentary remarks about our hotel and the “quietness” of the rooms and our double paned windows were so nice to hear. I will pass on your comments about the service to our staff, we always like to let them them know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests.

I agree with you about the cinnamon rolls, they are the bomb!

Thank you for staying with us. Let me know if you are planning to return to the Bay Area soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Oakland. The service here was great. Also a huge thanks to Vicky Chong, the general manager. She very easily accommodated our requests and handled all of our future reservations. All with a smile too. Vicky and Vick made it an easy choice to choose this hotel for all of our stays.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your commendation for our hotel. I am glad that Vicky Chong and Vick were able to assist you with your travel arrangements. I believe that helping our guests is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job. And Vicky and Vick certainly enjoy their jobs.

We appreciate your choosing the Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport for your visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

All service was great and for sure coming back.

I'm here for work and have a late flight but they are letting me have a special check out to allow me to shower for airport. Great location quick airport access and places to eat. I have along job ahead in alameda and will for sure be staying here the entire tim

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad that we were able to help with your special request for late check out. We understand that our guests sometimes have unique travel patterns and we do our best to be flexible and accommodate. If we can make life a little easier for our guests, we definitely will!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your project in the area. We appreciate your business!


Sincerely,

Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here with a family of four (two teens) the night before an early flight. We are frequent HI Express guests, staying in many properties across the country on family trips. This one is pretty standard but it's more expensive than most. $158 vs. $125 and under for most. (Probably indicative of the market) Looks like it was newly renovated within the last few years. It showed a few signs of typical high-traffic airport wear and tear, but overall it's clean. They offer a free shuttle to the airport. We turned our rental car in the night before, and their driver picked us up at the rental car facility and dropped us back at the hotel. Front desk staff was very friendly upon check in. However, the woman in the morning seemed a little tired or annoyed when we asked her to check the ETA on the van driver to the airport. One would not want to spend a vacation here, but it's fine for a night close to the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your remarks about our hotel. We try to make early flights in and out of the airport as convenient as possible. I am glad our shuttle to the car rental agency was helpful to your family. Regarding hotel rates, they do vary in different areas and our goal is to offer the best competitive value for our market.

Thank you for your comment about the front desk associate's courtesy skills. We will use it to further improve the guest experience.

Sincerely,

Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
236 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel has clean-modern rooms- with breakfast included in rate--workout room available-
free shuttle service available in 3 mile area--Full service Holiday In 2 blocks away has good food in theirsports/bar restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room in back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Suzanne,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! I am glad that the room quality, shuttle service, breakfast and the workout room were a good fit for you.We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Oakland Bay Area!

Sincerely,

Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport

Address: 66 Airport Access Road, Oakland, CA 94603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#2 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the closest hotel to the Oakland International Airport and centrally located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley.We welcome all guests either for work or play. Less than half a mile from the Oakland International Airport and just one mile from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum & Oracle Arena- home to the Oakland Raiders, the Oakland Athletics and the Golden State Warriors, you can really enjoy the home field advantage. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave, wet bar, refrigerator & high-speed Internet access wired and wireless connections.We also serve a delicious hot buffet breakfast every morning, and we have a Manager's Reception served in our Lobby area on Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday from 5:30 PM until 7:30 PM.We are 100% non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Hotel Oakland
Oakland Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.