We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, could be Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Oakland City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Oakland City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Oakland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good Hotel, could be Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in Oakland, but it's just behind the times with no WiFi. It just doesn't fly this day and age of technology to have business or leisure travelers not have access to wifi during their hotel stay. I cannot see the cost of providing free wifi to customers being something beyond Marriott capabilities. Motels offer wifi. I think this was the only downside to our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments. It's valuable feedback like yours that helps us continue to be a favorite hotel in downtown Oakland. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our team. We hope to see you again next time you're in Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    196
    84
    26
    9
See reviews for
48
73
43
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

When I arrived Sunday evening, I did not expect the room to be so large. I was given something that was almost as large as a suite. I don't alway find soft beds comfortable, but this king size bed was. I slept very well considering that later in the evening, I cracked a tooth and needed emergency dental service. The concierge found the dentist for me and I had an appointment the next morning. I did not need that trauma then because I was there to take the 1st year law student's exam Tuesday and I needed all day Monday to study. At least I was able to get through the exam with my dental problem taken care of. The staff was helpful because I needed something printed and the desk receptionist told be to send it to their email and he would print it from there. Very nice. I ate each meal in the hotel restaurant. It was pricey but the food was ample and delicious. I was never able to finish any meal. At the end, my server gave me a free sorbet to finish off my meal. Overall, it was a great stay and I look forward to staying there again if I have to go back to Oakland.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that our front desk team was able to help during your time with us. Best of luck as you continue through law school! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Oakland City Center's Marriott is a typical Marriott hotel; nice, clean, and relatively upscale. I find reviews knocking the area pretty pointless and being a fan of Oakland myself, it's also irritating. Keep your wits about you, just like you would anywhere else - that's all. Or stay in a different city. Anyway, I found the location extremely convenient, what with the BART station right by the hotel. Commuting to San Francisco and back a couple times was very smooth. Breakfast was also good. Staff is decent. Taking a star off because there were some issues at check-in that were never resolved, (I booked a package stay where the contents of said, "package," were not all delivered.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. It's good to hear you're a fan of Oakland - there really is a lot to love about "the town"! I'm sorry to hear there were issues with the hotel package you booked. If this hasn't already been resolved, please contact me directly at 510-451-4000 so I can look into it further.

I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Oakland proper leaves a lot to be desired. That being said, the Oakland City Center is a great property. Met by very courteous staff, booked in room 901 which is a corner room with multiple views. Yes, hallways have funky 70's carpet but the room has everything needed for a stay. There was a guest appreciation night with free wine and food in the lobby. Met some great people and had a nice time. Went to Level 2 restaurant and had James, the best server in the world. Filet was to die for and I have dined at 5 star steak houses. Have nothing but great things to say about this property and will stay here each time I come back over the next six months.

Room Tip: Room 901!!! Views out of both windows. No neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad to hear you were able to attend our guest appreciation event and enjoy a delicious steak at Level Two. Our Executive Chef takes a lot of pride in the menu at Level Two and serves aged Certified Angus Beef steaks - along with many other locally sourced dinner options. It's good to hear that James is so loved by our guests as well. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel as your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at the Marriot Oakland on a recent business trip. It's probably one of the best hotels in the oakland area. Looks a bit dated on the outside but is pleasant inside. Staff we very helfpul throughout the stay. Check in was quick and easy. Room was a good size and had all the amenities you would expect in a downtown Marriot. Gym is good - quite large size and plenty of different equipment. Bar area is also good. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. I did order room service breakfast and that was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed some of our hotel amenities. I hope to see you again next time you're in Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just got back from a trip to watch baseball in the bat area. Are first time in the area but not are last. The rooms are small as all rooms are in the bay area. But they where clean and the people where great. It is close to BART and that makes it easy to get to the ball parks and into San Francisco.
My best part was the staff in the bar. All where good but Tommy stands out. Always helpful and smiling. Great service.
Only thing not working as it should was the check out on the TV. Never got it to work but did get the phone system to work. If I had Tommy's number I bet he would have taken care of it for me.
Count me in for coming back.

Room Tip: All looked good to me. May be ask for off of Broadway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay! BART is a great way to get around the Bay area, especially for baseball games. Thanks for leaving that tip for future guests. Tommy is wonderful, we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to him. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very helpful staff and accommodative. Location is good. The concierge has are descent selections of food. The negative us the bathroom was very small. Barely can move for two people
If inside. Not enough towel but you just need to request.

Room Tip: Rooms is descent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. I hope you enjoyed the view from the Concierge Lounge - it's a good way to start or end your day. We hope to see you again next time you're in Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Oakland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Oakland City Center

Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Oakland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Oakland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Oakland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.