We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Oakland.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Oakland City Center

Save Saved
You added Marriott Oakland City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Oakland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to stay in Oakland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay when in the east bay. Modern rooms, good food, and excellent customer service. Parking is expensive. Not the cheapest place to stay if your on a budget. Located in downtown near bars and concert venues.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    164
    70
    24
    7
See reviews for
44
64
40
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very convenient location especially for business, right across the street from the BART and connected to the conference center. China Town is only a few blocks away and overall the area was fair for Oakland. The room, lobby and public areas were all very clean and fresh. Hotel gift shop, restaurant and bar were average for conference center hotels with limited and pricey selections. Only parking available was in the connected garage at $24 a night. I was surprised that wireless internet in the room was not complementary. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was incredible, the bell hop, valet, housekeeping, etc, all went above and beyond while smiling and asking about my day. Housekeeping left me a personal thank you when I left a tip. The only issue we had the whole time was that there was a Burning Man Global Conference in the hotel at the same time, my entire floor smelled like pot every evening and the neighbors were partying in their room until 530 in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Oakland City Center and the experience was truly enjoyable. The staff is very friendly, the restaurant food was very good and the bar drinks were very tasty. The surrounding area in Oakland is OK, as well as it can be. The shops and restaurants behind the hotel are all very nice. Short ride on the BART across the street will get you to Fisherman's Wharf in 15 minutes. Can't beat the price! I would stay there again if visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Ga.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I recently were scheduled to stay at the Marriott Oakland City Center for the Marathon/Half Marathon but we had to cancel our whole trip due to a death in the family. We called the Marriott and explained our situation and the front desk staff was most courteous and cancelled our reservations without penalty. This wonderful experience only makes us want to stay at the Marriott when we make it to Oakland in the future. Thanks Marriott Oakland City Center!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

First rate in every way. Location central, rooms clean and comfortable, staff friendly... Reasonably priced...comfortable working conditions at desk, etc. worked well for us with family of eight people... Would return for same

Room Tip: Upper stories, comer room... Top floors for best views... Also large sunny corner rooms/ suites quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a first-class hotel with a helpful staff, attractive rooms with nice views of the bay, and conveniently located in the city center. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center and surrounded by several nice restaurants. My best travel tip is that you can take the Bay Area Rapid Transit train from either Oakland or San Francisco airports directly to this hotel. The train was clean and comfortable, and it cost just $20 round-trip fare from SFO to this hotel in less than an hour. Try this with a taxi or shuttle. When I came up the escalator to the street, the hotel was right in front of me.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Oakland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Oakland City Center

Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#8 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Oakland City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Oakland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Oakland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.