We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel next to the Bart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Oakland City Center

Save Saved
You added Marriott Oakland City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Oakland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
E-bundle for Business
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel next to the Bart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable.
All staff I encountered were very helpful with directions etc.
There is a handy shuttle bus which goes past for free rides to and from Jack London. The seafood restaurants down there are excellent.
The BART is a 2 minute walk.
As an older female travelling alone I would probably choose not to stay at this hotel again as I did not feel safe walking outside after dark. If travelling with another I am sure it would be fine.
Take care if breakfast is included in your room rate as they charged me for breakfast on one of the mornings. It seems you have to tell them on entry, on ordering and when the bill is presented to not be charged. This error was quickly resolved by reception.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    154
    66
    24
    7
See reviews for
40
58
40
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just stayed five nights and wouldn't hesitate to return. The staff was consistently warm and helpful (which is saying a lot over 6 days), the hotel is immaculate and modern, and location is convenient to both BART and Chinatown (cheap food). The room and bathroom are spacious, and the room lighting is bright and thoughtfully designed (a tiny spotlight for reading when the other person is sleeping). The bedding is so luxurious that I had trouble getting up, and I am not a bed-lingerer. We felt we paid moderate rates for a luxury hotel. The area is checkered, but the hotel discreetly ensures security around-the-clock. We got early check-in and late check-out with no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had read some reviews and was concerned about selecting this hotel. But I am a Marriott customer and felt that if they had this location for a hotel it must be nice.
I was completely satisfied with this hotel.
The hall was dark and I remembered the reviews about it. I called the customer service and it was fixed. I was satisfied.
The room was a bay view and it was very nice. The bed was very comfortable.
The staff was very nice and accommodating
I have to say that if you have any doubt, please don't, you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved this oasis in the heart of Downtown Oakland, California.

My daughter graduated from UC Berkeley in May, 2012--- we needed a decent hotel for her graduation weekend and we booked this property through "Hotwire".

Even though its not the closest location for Berkeley per se, we found the Oakland Chinatown (only 2 blocks away) was the best reason to stay at this property.

Dim Sum can be found everywhere, at 10 different places at least! The competition makes the prices really cheap. 50 cents for most shiu mi and pork buns max out at 75 cents. How about a large order of BBQ pork Chow Fun for $1.75?

If you love asian cuisine, you will be in heaven while staying in a very comfortable room at the Oakland Marriot. Don't stay too long, as your waistline will grow several inches, LOL.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This typically large Marriott, adjacent to the convention center, provided me with a decent room, very helpful staff, with the12th Street BART station right on the corner offering easy access to San Francisco. There is a free shuttle around Oakland until 7 PM, later on weekends, which stops right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was rather nice. I was not sure what to make of the reviews as some people called the area kind of shady. I found it to be a decent area but the driveway was very difficult to enter as it was only one way and you could not circle the block. The room was clean and as other travelers mentioned the bed was quite comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. I ordered room service and it was ok. I ordered at the last minute so I think that was why it was not very good. Overall, this hotel was nice and close to where I needed to go. It was convenient to get to San Francisco shopping and the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just an average Marriott, where I generally stay twice a month, in various cities, on business travel. The concierge needs a better variety and quality of food in the evening, The food is not warm and appears to be left over from earlier in the day. One elevator was out of service the entire week. The front desk is not conveniently located to the parking garage, which is shared with the convention center, the obvious intent is for you to valet park. Access to the garage is very small. Be cautious if you have a large vehicle or SUV

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the review Michele W. I apologize that you did not enjoy the food in our concierge lounge. I assure you that we make the hot food each night, specifically for our guests in the lounge. We are continually improving the variety and healthy options based on suggestions such as yours. The parking garage elevators are connected to the hotel, providing the convenience of a short indoor walk to our hotel registration and guest room elevators. I hope you will stay with again the next time you are in the Oakland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Oakland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Oakland City Center

Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Marriott Oakland City Hotel
Marriott Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
#8 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Oakland City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Oakland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Oakland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.