We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip to Oakland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Oakland City Center

Save Saved
You added Marriott Oakland City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Oakland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fontana, California
1 review
“Our trip to Oakland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had read some reviews and was concerned about selecting this hotel. But I am a Marriott customer and felt that if they had this location for a hotel it must be nice.
I was completely satisfied with this hotel.
The hall was dark and I remembered the reviews about it. I called the customer service and it was fixed. I was satisfied.
The room was a bay view and it was very nice. The bed was very comfortable.
The staff was very nice and accommodating
I have to say that if you have any doubt, please don't, you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    169
    72
    26
    7
See reviews for
46
66
40
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved this oasis in the heart of Downtown Oakland, California.

My daughter graduated from UC Berkeley in May, 2012--- we needed a decent hotel for her graduation weekend and we booked this property through "Hotwire".

Even though its not the closest location for Berkeley per se, we found the Oakland Chinatown (only 2 blocks away) was the best reason to stay at this property.

Dim Sum can be found everywhere, at 10 different places at least! The competition makes the prices really cheap. 50 cents for most shiu mi and pork buns max out at 75 cents. How about a large order of BBQ pork Chow Fun for $1.75?

If you love asian cuisine, you will be in heaven while staying in a very comfortable room at the Oakland Marriot. Don't stay too long, as your waistline will grow several inches, LOL.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This typically large Marriott, adjacent to the convention center, provided me with a decent room, very helpful staff, with the12th Street BART station right on the corner offering easy access to San Francisco. There is a free shuttle around Oakland until 7 PM, later on weekends, which stops right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was rather nice. I was not sure what to make of the reviews as some people called the area kind of shady. I found it to be a decent area but the driveway was very difficult to enter as it was only one way and you could not circle the block. The room was clean and as other travelers mentioned the bed was quite comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. I ordered room service and it was ok. I ordered at the last minute so I think that was why it was not very good. Overall, this hotel was nice and close to where I needed to go. It was convenient to get to San Francisco shopping and the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just an average Marriott, where I generally stay twice a month, in various cities, on business travel. The concierge needs a better variety and quality of food in the evening, The food is not warm and appears to be left over from earlier in the day. One elevator was out of service the entire week. The front desk is not conveniently located to the parking garage, which is shared with the convention center, the obvious intent is for you to valet park. Access to the garage is very small. Be cautious if you have a large vehicle or SUV

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the review Michele W. I apologize that you did not enjoy the food in our concierge lounge. I assure you that we make the hot food each night, specifically for our guests in the lounge. We are continually improving the variety and healthy options based on suggestions such as yours. The parking garage elevators are connected to the hotel, providing the convenience of a short indoor walk to our hotel registration and guest room elevators. I hope you will stay with again the next time you are in the Oakland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days here after the New Year and were happy with the accomodations, of course being in California nothing is cheap, and had to pay $24 for parking and $10 a day for wifi.
The staff were very courteous and helpful, the room was exceptionally clean had nice views, was quiet and we felt quite at home there. We liked the central location and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on keeping our facilities clean and inviting with our friendly staff. Our self parking option does now provides unlimited in and out privileges, which can be very useful when exploring the area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

First, I got a great rate on the room at $129 per night. With that, the experience was on par with the price. The desk service could have been faster. However, the staff was pleasant once present.

The rooms were basic with flat panel TV's and wet bar but rather small in space. The views of the Oakland Port and Bay are amazing. The location is optimal...near a Bart Station, walking distance to old Oakland, Jack London Square, and the Waterfront. Just 5 minutes away from Lake Merritt. All in all, not bad.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Oakland City Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Glad to hear you took advantage of our central location here; lots to do within a short distance. There are plenty of great restaurants near the hotel with Chinatown and Jack London Square a few blocks away. Our rooms do offer great views of either the SF bay or the city and surrounding hills. I apologize for the wait time you experienced upon check in. I hope you will stay with us again and give us a chance to wow you with our customer service and make your entire stay here an excellent one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Oakland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Oakland City Center

Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Oakland City Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Oakland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Oakland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.