We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Access to Bart....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Oakland City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Oakland City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Oakland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carmichael, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Access to Bart....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Marriott has done a nice job of updating the property...and when combined with great access to Bart (right across the street), it makes for a good place to stay if you "have" to stay in Oakland. I have stayed here 4 times, and each time the room was a different shape and configuration. Consistently clean, with the usual Marriott amenities. Bedding is comfy, and the rooms are very quiet. Sure...the elevators can be a little slow, but that usually accompanies older properties that have been modernized (very costly to try to add new or additional elevators). In my experiences there, the elevators stopped at nearly every floor, so of course that is going to take longer than desired.

Parking is separate from the hotel and is around $30 for 24 hours...well worth the money because of....well..it's Oakland. The garage is connected to the hotel and is well-lighted...however I found myself looking over my shoulder when parking, getting things out of my trunk, etc.....perhaps a bit paranoid, but Oakland has a pretty lousy track record in the safety department.

I stayed at the hotel the night before a Raiders home game, and the visiting team was staying in the hotel. There were a lot of "fans" hanging out looking to collect autographs, etc. The hotel security did a good job of making sure hotel guests (and football players) were not bothered (not that anyone would want my autograph, but there were some interesting fans lurking around).

The best part of this Marriott is the close proximity to Bart (Oakland City Center station), which is right across the street. I have returned from SF at night, and felt relatively safe in crossing the street but I certainly wouldn't take any detours if walking alone. There are quite a few restaurants in the area within walking distance, but again, I would not head out after dark if going solo.

I can't comment on restaurants, workout facilites, or other aspects of the hotel. However, I can recommend the Marriott City Center for a comfortable, clean and quiet night. The service was courteous and friendly, and the rooms were fine... In a different location, I would give this Marriott 4 stars, but I just couldn't bring myself to elevate to that level because of the neighborhood....and the questionable people hanging out on the streets.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor looking towards San Francisco...you be lucky enough to catch a great sunset..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    194
    79
    26
    8
See reviews for
48
72
42
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were decent aside from the loud heating and air units. The elevator not running at full capacity was not ok. I took the stairs several times and the lack the hotel to do anything about the problem was annoying. 21 floor hotel with one elevator anda 500 + capacity doesn't work. They offered me $50 in compensation for the renovation issues. Only good point was lots of great restaurants surrounding hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I would agree, the lack of elevators causes delays of up to 15 minutes. It was easier to catch the lift from the tenth floor - go up to level 21 just to get to the ground floor!!

The Hotel should reduce the occupancy rate to align with the elevator capacity until they are all in use!!

Otherwise the hotel, bar, staff were excellent.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel has a lot going for it: a good location, rooms with bay views, a friendly staff, a decent bar. However our recent stay was a nightmare, thanks to an unacceptable elevator system. It was not unusual to wait at least ten minutes, only to have the elevator be full when the door opened. People began using the service elevator or stairs, but carrying luggage down from the 5th floor is not our idea of a fun time. If this had happened once or twice, I would have no issue, but this was the rule rather than the exception. Until this problem has been resolved, this is a hotel to avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference. Had a wonderful dinner in a private dining room, the food at the conference was great -- healthy and appealing -- fresh fruit, fresh salad, nicely presented. There are 2 coffee places (Starbucks and Peets) within a 3-5 minute walk. Best of all was the front desk clerk, Teri, who was most helpful to me. I lost an item while I was at the hotel -- and while it was not found -- she followed up with me -- thanks Teri for GREAT customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Was here for a conference recently. The staff was friendly. Breakfast at hotel restaurant was $28 for eggs, bacon, and tea. Currently there is one elevator not functioning. On busy mornings we had to wait more than 10 minutes to get on, then had to stop on most every floor on the way down. Proximity to BART, restaurants and bars is good. At night there were hotel staff manning every door, presumably because of previous problems with riff raff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coron, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Oakland. It is quite pricey compared to its more affordable counterpart Marriott courtyard which is just a stone throw's away from here. Rooms are quite small.
But the staff are quite good. They are helpful and easily give you what you need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Oakland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Oakland City Center

Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Oakland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Oakland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Oakland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.