We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the morning buns!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Farine Bakery

La Farine Bakery
6323 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1331
510-654-0338
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 64 Bakeries in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the morning buns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I just started to work in Berkeley and someone brought in the morning buns. I was so surprised that they were so moist and delicious! I've had others that were always dry and had no flavor. These are the best I ever had and worth the trip over from the city. I woke up early this morning and took a quick drive over there to pick some up! Expensive, but a great treat...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best pan au levain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Claremont bakery nicer than Piedmont bakery.

Pros:
OMG so good!
Best pan au levain and best morning buns ever.

Cons:
Cakes not really worth the high price tag, but still yummy.
Not best ambiance for sitting and visiting in either the claremont or the piedmont locations. Not very frenchy in that way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This little Boulangerie is the best outside of Aix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This little Boulangerie is the best outside of Aix! I am happy to say each time I return to the Bay Area, this little bakery is as good, if not better than I remembered it to be. The croissants, morning buns and fruit tarts are all divine. Try it all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eclairs Made by Angels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Okay, maybe angels don't really do the baking, but it tastes like it. I keep dreaming of that little eclair I had there last week: rich, thick dark chocolate topping and crispy, light pastry and the perfect combination of custard and whipped cream filling. It compares well to many of my favorite pastry shops in Europe. My daughter raves about their cookies, my husband delights in their roast beef sandwiches, but trust me here: don't miss the eclair.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Living near LaFerine is torture!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Living near any bakery, if you're a bread and pastery lover can be difficult, but living near La Farine is just torture! So good. Baguette!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Farine Bakery also viewed

 

Been to La Farine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Farine Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.