We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Service You Could Ever Ask For!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The BEST Service You Could Ever Ask For!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I come to Oakland on business quite often and I have never had a hotel treat me with more friendliness and hospitality as the Waterfront Hotel. Every staff member treats you like part of their extended family. The hotel itslf sits right on the water and the ambience is terrific! The beds are extremely comfortable and the service impeccable! You can't beat the rates! I would refer this hotel to anyone! Absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    163
    65
    28
    13
See reviews for
74
148
41
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverbank
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The help was superb and very customer friendly, especially Daniel. Only negative would be the trains comeby frequently until 11:00 pm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I bought a package that I thought was a good deal, but when I read the fine print, it was very poor value.
I paid $ 239 for room that overlooked a roof.
I thought it included breakfast and a $50 voucher per day, but it did not.
When I checked in I requested a good room but this is what they put me in.
The staff are poorly trained and inexperienced.
Trains whistle by every 15 minutes.
Only stay here if you get it for under $130 a night.
The lobby and pool area has a slightly grubby feel to it.
The location is wonderful, and if it was a reasonable price, I would feel good about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

staff was very assertive and helpful. the outdoor pool area was very relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan Placer County, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The staff was so friendly and helpful, especially Daniel in valet parking. The location was great...really enjoyed the Farmers Market at Jack London Square which was within walking distance. It was nice to walk along the waterfront. And the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced. Loved it!

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryn mawr, pa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Ok stay at what seems to be a touch overpriced hotel. Nautical themed, it lies on the bay in Oakland, Jack London Square. Rooms were fine, bed was too. But the trains coming thru all night really caused a racket. Finally put the tv on just to create some white noise.
No real issues with the place, the restaurant was great, staff seemed friendly enough. Shower design a little odd in that you can't really keep the bathroom door open while showering.
I am pretty easy going, the trains did sorta' get to me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed two nights last weekend at the Waterfront Hotel and found the staff to be warm and friendly. The bell hop even offered to drive me to the BART station a few blocks away. Between the front desk staff and the concierge/bell hop, they could not do enough. The hotel has a perfect location on the Oakland Estuary with boat slips in view. Everything you need (jazz-Yoshi's in Jack London Square, excellent high end dinner-Scott's, ATMs and great breakfast nearby - Buttercup) and just a mellow feel overall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.