We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Month of July Sale!
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The view and the location are great. But the room was just ok, and the rate was overpriced. People were nice and accomodating. Ended up not eating there, but heard the food was good. Can't beat the location for a cup of coffee looking at the boats in the morning. Who knew Oakland could be so beautiful?

Room Tip: Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    110
    58
    26
    12
See reviews for
50
107
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

JoJo really made our trip. I visited with my parents for a family wedding. We arrived late, exhausted after a very long trip. We were met by the happiest front desk agent that immediately turned our attitudes around and set the tone for a wonderful stay. JoJo was the best and I truly looked forward to seeing him each day. He remembered our names and greeted us as if he was glad to see us each time. He had some awesome recommendations too. The hotel was clean and accommodating, and the location was extremely convenient, especially to the ferry terminal. But our stay was truly made by JoJo. He's an asset to the operation and I wish I could take him back to my hotel in NY! Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We blindly chose it based on Joie de Vivre management of Ventana Big Sur. MiSTAKE!!
Property is run down, tattered, tired, in disrepair.
Paper thin walls, toilet and vanity child height and pre fab shower is tight and shower head coming out of the wall. Unsightly spaghetti wiring all over room. Smoke alarm and remote control for TV needed batteries replaced. The good news was that maintenance showed up quickly.
Public areas are unclean, need to be vacuumed. Cramped elevator with cracked mirror. Gate from pool to public walkway unsecured.
Inadequate bell service due to lack of luggage trollies.
Next door neighbors kept us awake most of the night with rowdy yelling. After complaining to front desk they temporarily stopped only to start up again. Police should have been called after our second complaint,
Joie de Rivre, really is this your standard !? We would have been more comfortable in a motel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have stayed here many times in the past when booked by the company and found it to be mediocre at best. Now that it is operated as a "Joie de Vivre" Hotel I decided to give it another chance. Decor in the rooms has been updated and the staff attitude has improved immensely. Very courteous attention from the front desk and the bell staff. They gave a courtesy ride into town to the rental car location and provided transportation to the Amtrak station for another couple. Located right on the waterfront at Jack London Square

Room Tip: The waterside rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights on a business trip. Nice hotel right on the water with restaurants and bars in walking distance, unfortunately it is one block away from train tracks. Both Cargo and passenger trains go by the hotel all hours of the day, including through the night. The trains are required to blow their whistle a minimum of three times at the intersection one block from the hotel. Getting a full nights rest here takes one very sound sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed the overall appearance of the hotel. Unfortunately is the location of the hotel a big downer as it is very noisy (train passes all night long) and surrounding is shady at night (you don't want to walk as a women outside alone).
As said, the hotel itself is very stylish and rooms are very spacious. Beds are propably the most comfortable we had during our 2 week road trip. So soft sheets. Very fragrant bathroom utensils (loved the shampoo & lotion).
Another minus for the parking fee of 25$ per night - you can expect free parking for a hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: Chose a room that is towards waterfront to avoid train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great place to stay and enjoy the balcony rooms overlooking the water. We enjoy taking the ferry over to San Francisco and spending the day. Pittawat and Mary Ellen are Great people to work with at the hotel. The last time we stayed they upgraded us to the Penthouse Suite
which was Awesome. The staff and valet parking staff are always very friendly and accommodating.
We enjoy the farmers market on Sunday mornings also.

Room Tip: We love the suites over looking the water with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best spot in Oakland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.