We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the bay hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Break Sales!
Ranked #9 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view of the bay hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great place to stay and enjoy the balcony rooms overlooking the water. We enjoy taking the ferry over to San Francisco and spending the day. Pittawat and Mary Ellen are Great people to work with at the hotel. The last time we stayed they upgraded us to the Penthouse Suite
which was Awesome. The staff and valet parking staff are always very friendly and accommodating.
We enjoy the farmers market on Sunday mornings also.

Room Tip: We love the suites over looking the water with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    55
    25
    10
See reviews for
42
87
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we have been here 3 times now. sweet spot, pool was great. staff was super. the ferry is right there so we took it to the giants game...an absolute blast. they let us leave our car and our bags until after the game ( check out was noon,,,we left our bags and car there until 5). market @ Jack London square Sunday morning was great.we ate outside and had fresh crepes and farmers market fruit. we love this place highly recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: cost more, but get a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night to go to a friend's wedding at Rock Wall Winery. We like to travel with our dogs, so that was why we picked the hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff was amazingly friendly and the location was quite nice. There is a big lawn right outside the lobby which is very nice for the dogs, but be prepared to run into some homeless personalities out there, nothing scary just different and know that you'll find this almost every where in Oakland. I read some reviews that said that the train noise kept people up at night, but we had no issues with it at all. The room actually had a sort of double sliding glass door set up that pretty effectively blocked the sound. I only noticed the train whistle once. That being said, I did however hear the neighbor's bed creaking away for 20 minutes as we were falling asleep and noise from the hallway was noticeable, but not terrible. The bathroom could do for some updating, the shower stalls are pretty dark, but the rest of the room was wonderful. Everything was clean. The valet was super fast when we asked for our car.

Pros
- Dog Friendly
- Great staff (from the valet to the house keepers to the clerks at the front desk, every single person was friendly... it was pretty awesome. A+++++ in this department)
- Short walk to Jack London Square, lots to do and see within walking distance

Cons
- Bit of noise (not from outside, but rather hallways and neighboring rooms)
- Not the greatest bathroom, but they were clean, the water was hot, and the water pressure in the shower was pretty good.
- General Oakland-ness. I wouldn't take the dogs out to go potty at night alone because of the people hanging around, but other than asking for some change they didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights this week, and had a great stay. Room was clean and bed comfortable, had a great view of the marina and pool. Nice salt water pool. Was a bit disappointed that wine tasting was not offered on weekend or the Monday holiday..... Went to Scotts for dinner, not worth the money. Would try something different next time. Area felt safe and the ferry is right there! Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very friendly staff and a lovely view of the docks. I was a little worried about the area. It isn't the safest part of town, but hey, it's Oakland! I wasn't expecting a stroll down the Champs-Élysées, but if you're a woman traveling alone—I would not walk around by yourself. Like the other reviewers said, there are trains that go by. If you're a light sleeper, you're SOL. Luckily I am not, but I was in for a surprise when I woke up the next day. I love that the Waterfront is pet friendly and have NO pet fee which is great, but I wouldn't stay here again. I travel with my dog, so when I checked in I'm pretty sure they gave me "the pet room" because I woke up the next morning covered in flea bites. Then I found fleas in the sheets. Oy! It's been a week since I checked out and I'm still itching.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Background: we were travelling for a month around Hawaii and California. We had booked one night after arriving quite late at the airport, before picking up a car the next morning.
Arrival: our reception was lovely, a delightful member of staff was quick, efficient and pleasant. The decor was wonderful. Unfortunately, there was nowhere for us to get any food as it was past 10pm, no room service and no open restaurants nearby.
Room: tasteful and individual, very clean, a super comfortable bed, good shower, noisy air conditioning. However, this proved useful as the people in the room next door were watching a film on the TV, very loudly.
Area: we really did not stay for long enough to explore, but I would have definitely liked more time and think it would make a great base. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which is outside and around the corner from reception (do ask!).
Would we return? Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paicines, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great room, wonderful view. Restaurants in the area. Staff was very accommodating and fulfilled every need graciously. Close to Ferry station to S.F. to make the sightseeing easier. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best spot in Oakland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.