We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save the Safe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Month of July Sale!
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“Save the Safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After checking out I left my check books and jewelry for my upcoming anniversary in the hotel room safe. The staff, lead by Jan, contacted me immediately and made arrangements for overnight shipment. Everything arrived exactly as I put it into the safe. I am most grateful! From the Ritz in Paris to the Peninsula in Hong Kong I have never received more caring service than at the Waterfront! Five stars in not enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    110
    57
    26
    12
See reviews for
48
104
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a nice one-night stay in a big corner room on the top floor, overlooking the pool and waterfront. The hotel is right next to Jack London Square, which has a few restaurants and bars and is hopping when there is an event there. (When there's nothing going on, it seems pretty dead!) The hotel has a fun nautical theme and a nice pool, and our room was really spacious. We ate breakfast at the café, which serves great coffee drinks and a limited selection of egg dishes, oatmeal, sandwiches, etc. The staff were super friendly, valet parking a breeze, and the hotel is just blocks from the freeway, but the room we had on the water side was peaceful. The views aren't spectacular (it's a busy industrial waterfront in one direction) but it's great considering you're in a big city. We took a boat cruise from Alameda, which was a quick 5-minute drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the water side for a quiet night of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed the location right on Jack London Square. We had a room which had a view of the marina and the Square. Comfortable and quiet room, valet parking with a fee, complimentary wine and cheese from 5:00 - 6:00. One night we had heavy footed neighbors above us. The hotel staff was very pleasant and changed our room upgrading us to the marina view with balcony. The hotel is walking distance to several very good restaurants on Jack London Square and it is also near the USS Potomac.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I travel to the Bay area once a month for business meetings in the Embarcadero area of SF. I love staying at the Waterfront and commuting over on the ferry in the morning and back in the evening. The ferry is right next to the hotel so you also get a SF Bay "tour". The rooms are so pleasant and the beds are great...I sleep like a baby. I am so pleased with the new restaurant Lungomare, where I have had several great meals. I meet friends here after work for dinner or drinks. It is a great improvement over the old Miss Pearl's.
This is a Joie de Vivre hotel so I recommend joining the Joy of Life Club frequent guest program if you travel often on the west Coast....very nice perks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed two nights as part of a baseball trip. The Waterfront is a nice, clean, nautical-themed hotel in the heart of Jack London Square. The spaces are quirky and non-corporate feeling. The staff is courteous and helpful. The hotel provides a shuttle service and was happy to call for a car or cab when the shuttle wasn't running. The surrounding environs provide a wealth of restaurants. Forge Pizza was particularly good. A small local brewery--Linden Street--is also within walking distance and well worth a visit. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Waterfront Hotel in Oakland is at a perfect location. The bayside rooms have wonderful views from the balconies - ships in and out, fog creeping on SF, and the colorful flotsam and jetsam of people of Oakland and the ferry traffic. The rooms are nice and clean, although everything is a little worn around the edges. The lobby is very pleasant and comfortable and the pool, heat and salted, is enclosed by glass to preserve the view. All wonderful! A couple of warnings. The tiles around the pool are quite slick - beyond anything I have seen and we watched several people fall - old and young. Secondly, we saw several incidents of non-guests wandering into the lobby and pool area, availing themselves of the coffee and tea. Not a real big deal, but could end up being a problem if you leave bags around. We love this hotel and have stayed there multiple times and will go back. PS, the breakfast at the restaurant was not good. Go elsewhere for that.

Room Tip: Get something overlooking the bay. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our five nights here. It's a very good value for this area. The rooms are fun and comfortable, the staff friendly. Oakland is a delightful place, young and not corporate, not scrubbed clean of character. The ferry is right next to the hotel to get to SF. Cafe food is terrific.

Room Tip: Water view is nice, 244 is across from gym, no excuse not to exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best spot in Oakland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.