We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Oakland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Hillsdale, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Oakland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed the location right on Jack London Square. We had a room which had a view of the marina and the Square. Comfortable and quiet room, valet parking with a fee, complimentary wine and cheese from 5:00 - 6:00. One night we had heavy footed neighbors above us. The hotel staff was very pleasant and changed our room upgrading us to the marina view with balcony. The hotel is walking distance to several very good restaurants on Jack London Square and it is also near the USS Potomac.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    117
    58
    26
    12
See reviews for
52
110
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I travel to the Bay area once a month for business meetings in the Embarcadero area of SF. I love staying at the Waterfront and commuting over on the ferry in the morning and back in the evening. The ferry is right next to the hotel so you also get a SF Bay "tour". The rooms are so pleasant and the beds are great...I sleep like a baby. I am so pleased with the new restaurant Lungomare, where I have had several great meals. I meet friends here after work for dinner or drinks. It is a great improvement over the old Miss Pearl's.
This is a Joie de Vivre hotel so I recommend joining the Joy of Life Club frequent guest program if you travel often on the west Coast....very nice perks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed two nights as part of a baseball trip. The Waterfront is a nice, clean, nautical-themed hotel in the heart of Jack London Square. The spaces are quirky and non-corporate feeling. The staff is courteous and helpful. The hotel provides a shuttle service and was happy to call for a car or cab when the shuttle wasn't running. The surrounding environs provide a wealth of restaurants. Forge Pizza was particularly good. A small local brewery--Linden Street--is also within walking distance and well worth a visit. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Waterfront Hotel in Oakland is at a perfect location. The bayside rooms have wonderful views from the balconies - ships in and out, fog creeping on SF, and the colorful flotsam and jetsam of people of Oakland and the ferry traffic. The rooms are nice and clean, although everything is a little worn around the edges. The lobby is very pleasant and comfortable and the pool, heat and salted, is enclosed by glass to preserve the view. All wonderful! A couple of warnings. The tiles around the pool are quite slick - beyond anything I have seen and we watched several people fall - old and young. Secondly, we saw several incidents of non-guests wandering into the lobby and pool area, availing themselves of the coffee and tea. Not a real big deal, but could end up being a problem if you leave bags around. We love this hotel and have stayed there multiple times and will go back. PS, the breakfast at the restaurant was not good. Go elsewhere for that.

Room Tip: Get something overlooking the bay. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our five nights here. It's a very good value for this area. The rooms are fun and comfortable, the staff friendly. Oakland is a delightful place, young and not corporate, not scrubbed clean of character. The ferry is right next to the hotel to get to SF. Cafe food is terrific.

Room Tip: Water view is nice, 244 is across from gym, no excuse not to exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Waterfront Hotel on Jack London Square in Oakland. I came for wedding and had a large comfortable room for a good rate. I did have a problem with the first night, when my room was a connected double, and there was a thin door between the connected room and my room, which let me hear everything going on in the room next door. Also, after housekeeping came the next day, they left open the door between the two rooms! But the hotel handled my complaint well, moving me to a better room without a fuss.

The hotel has a nice little wine & cheese hour, complimentary, at 5pm, and a pretty little pool which is just big enough for lap swimming.

However, much as I liked the hotel itself and thought the desk clerks were friendly and helpful, I would not stay here again. The waterfront area is in the middle of a big redevelopment -- it used to be a seedy area with strip clubs and empty buildings. Now there are new apartment buildings and some pretty waterfront restaurants...but there isn't a grocery store or a drug store within 10 blocks. I had to walk all the way to the Oakland city center, about 12 blocks, to get some normal drugstore things at a Walgreens. There was a tiny gift shop near the hotel but it was out of the essentials I needed. And the free shuttle bus that runs up Broadway during the week does not start running until the evening on Saturdays. This was VERY inconvenient. I suppose that more development is coming, and once the area gets filled in a bit more, then the shuttle bus will start running on weekends during the day. But until then, I would advise staying in a part of Oakland or Berkeley that has more services and is easier to get around on weekends.

Room Tip: If you can get a waterfront room with a balcony without paying too much more than for a city-side ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for the second time as I was passing through the area. The Waterfront is well located, with several very nice dining choices in the area. Had a bit of a snafu with the door card, but they eventually worked it out. Maybe it's the foam earplugs I use when sleeping, but the nearby Amtrak train has never bothered me here.

Staff still friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in the rooms, and free access to a printer in the lobby for airline check-in.

One big plus - the ferry to SF is a 60 second walk from the hotel, which means you can walk out of your room and be on Pier 41 (Fisherman's Wharf & Pier 39 area) in about 30 minutes for just a few dollars. It's worth the ferry trip just to see the SF skyline from the water & the Bay Bridge lights at night.

Room Tip: The water view rooms are nicer, but may not be worth the extra $ if you're just there for a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.