We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Forest Hills NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our five nights here. It's a very good value for this area. The rooms are fun and comfortable, the staff friendly. Oakland is a delightful place, young and not corporate, not scrubbed clean of character. The ferry is right next to the hotel to get to SF. Cafe food is terrific.

Room Tip: Water view is nice, 244 is across from gym, no excuse not to exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    110
    58
    26
    12
See reviews for
50
107
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Waterfront Hotel on Jack London Square in Oakland. I came for wedding and had a large comfortable room for a good rate. I did have a problem with the first night, when my room was a connected double, and there was a thin door between the connected room and my room, which let me hear everything going on in the room next door. Also, after housekeeping came the next day, they left open the door between the two rooms! But the hotel handled my complaint well, moving me to a better room without a fuss.

The hotel has a nice little wine & cheese hour, complimentary, at 5pm, and a pretty little pool which is just big enough for lap swimming.

However, much as I liked the hotel itself and thought the desk clerks were friendly and helpful, I would not stay here again. The waterfront area is in the middle of a big redevelopment -- it used to be a seedy area with strip clubs and empty buildings. Now there are new apartment buildings and some pretty waterfront restaurants...but there isn't a grocery store or a drug store within 10 blocks. I had to walk all the way to the Oakland city center, about 12 blocks, to get some normal drugstore things at a Walgreens. There was a tiny gift shop near the hotel but it was out of the essentials I needed. And the free shuttle bus that runs up Broadway during the week does not start running until the evening on Saturdays. This was VERY inconvenient. I suppose that more development is coming, and once the area gets filled in a bit more, then the shuttle bus will start running on weekends during the day. But until then, I would advise staying in a part of Oakland or Berkeley that has more services and is easier to get around on weekends.

Room Tip: If you can get a waterfront room with a balcony without paying too much more than for a city-side ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for the second time as I was passing through the area. The Waterfront is well located, with several very nice dining choices in the area. Had a bit of a snafu with the door card, but they eventually worked it out. Maybe it's the foam earplugs I use when sleeping, but the nearby Amtrak train has never bothered me here.

Staff still friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in the rooms, and free access to a printer in the lobby for airline check-in.

One big plus - the ferry to SF is a 60 second walk from the hotel, which means you can walk out of your room and be on Pier 41 (Fisherman's Wharf & Pier 39 area) in about 30 minutes for just a few dollars. It's worth the ferry trip just to see the SF skyline from the water & the Bay Bridge lights at night.

Room Tip: The water view rooms are nicer, but may not be worth the extra $ if you're just there for a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Was here for 2 days, we were a group of 7 in Oakland for a few days, hotel is well located and felt safe, but from the time we arrived none of the door cards worked. The hotel front desk staff gave us static and finally got out special door cards that worked -- but this was after we yelled at the staff to fix the problem -- they don't care. Any would stay there again even if the location is great. So maybe by now they have fixed the problem, so you can't say you have been warned.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just completed a week-long stay at this lovely hotel. The location can't be beat. Right on the marina, steps from the ferry and wonderful restaurants. On Sundays you can enjoy the Farmer's Market right outside your door.
The hotel is undergoing a bit of a renovation. New carpets are being installed and we were told they also had plans on replacing the draperies in the rooms. Our room was immaculate - I recommend a marina view, preferably with a deck. The front desk personnel were very accommodating and helpful. We used the $25/day valet parking (required) and never had to wait long for our vehicle.
The wine & cheese hour was nice, but a bit sparse on the offerings. The outdoor salt water pool was heated. Lovely.
Although there are many, many pros to staying at this hotel, there is one con for light sleepers. Trains (with blaring horns) run all day long just a block from this hotel. The first couple of nights were rough, but by the end of our week stay, we were getting used to the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Please you must read this before staying.

The hotel is right next to a railway line with trains running day and night about every twenty mins. They have to sound their horns constantly so you will get no sleep. We changed hotels after one night. I will try and attached a video so you can listen to how loud this noise is, trust me its loud in your room especially as there is no sound proofing.

Next EXPEDIA who we book through told us this hotel is in sanfrancisco it is not! It is in Oakland which is a 20 min drive and 80 -100 dollar cost from the airport SFO by taxi. We won't trust Expedia again.

The walls are very thin and you can hear the conversation from the room next door.

We were given a bay view room which had a very restricted view of a tiny bit of the bay if you lent out of the balcony and a good view of the container port and industrial area in which the hotel is situated.

In fairness the hotel staff were very nice I get the feeling they are used to people complaining. They were quite happy to refund our remaining nights and we are now trying to take up the terrible nights stay with EXPEDIA . The hotel did offer us another room which was said to be quieter but it smelt very musty and damp. The hotel itself downstairs in the public rooms seem quite nice but we left after one night and I would strongly advise you not to stay here. Look out for the video I posted on here it shows our view of the bay ...ish and you can hear but not see the very loud train.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days, and they were absolutely terrific. The room overlooked the bay which was beautiful to view in the evening. Got the ferry to San Francisco right outside the hotel which was so great. We were greeted by a wonderful young man who took care of our bags and car, and was so pleasant and helpful. The area around the hotel was nice but walking into town frankly was a little unsettling for us, although no issues, just did not feel comfortable. Would not walk downtown in the evening. But that is not the hotel so back to that. We had a lovely deck and were in a corner room. Bed was comfortable and with the exception of the coffee maker which really needed to be cleaned, the room was spotless. I want to thank them for making our stay so pleasant. The staff was kind and very helpful to two older folks from out of town and I thank them very much for going out of their way on some things. Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best spot in Oakland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.