We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff and facility are among the best in Oakland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance by the bay
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The staff and facility are among the best in Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are a fan of the waterfront, views of sailboats, walking distance to several fine dining establishments, and a ferry to San Francisco the Waterfront Hotel is your only choice. Their staff is top notch... always greeted me with a smile and my name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    157
    63
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
143
40
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Waterfront Hotel was the perfect place for our group of friends to stay when we went to a show at Yoshi's in Oakland. The check in process was smooth and I received a bottle of wine since I am a Joie De Vivre member (free to be a member). The hotel is directly across the street from Yoshi's. The parking is valet but you can park in the parking garage across the street and get validated at Yoshi's and it is much less expensive. We just checked in and then went and parked. The hotel room was a good rate for being such a nice hotel. The rooms were very clean and we had a large balcony over looking the pool and harbor. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me an some friends stayed here to go to a show at the Fox last month. I had just gotten a new puppy and wasn't comfortable leaving her at home or in a kennel, so I changed my Mariott Reservation to here as they are pet friendly. It was pricey, but the location can't be beat. Also the staff was very helpful and the rooms were nicely furnished. I really enjoyed our balcony that overlooked the pool area/waterfront.

The pool was great! I wish I had more time to spend at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After driving 2+ hours from Monterey, pulling up to this hotel was a sight for sore eyes. The desk clerk let us check in earlier than usual, and the valet couldn't have been more helpful with our bags. The room was very clean, decorated with vintage nautical and/or tattoo art. We spent most of our time walking around Jack London Square-totally unplanned, but we really liked the area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my first stay at this property on Jack London's waterfront. Usually you'll find these hotels to be overpriced for what they are however in this case I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a water view room. It was on the first floor and right outside our door was the swimming pool. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean and in good shape. The bath shows the age of the hotel as the shower stall was small, dark and awkward in terms of opening the door to the bathroom and the shower at the same time. My bathroom at home is nicer. That being said, we were very pleasantly surprised by the overall comfort of the room. The bed was very comfortable and the room extremely quiet. The lighting is a bit harsh with florescent bulbs.

We arrived on a Friday evening and my only complaint was that the parking valet and front desk seemed somewhat understaffed with one individual each at these posts with lots of people waiting around to be helped.

The location is great, central to everything in Oakland. I moved away several years ago and am pleasantly surprised by the amount of activity now in this area. The chain restaurants at Jack London have given way to other wonderful restaurants. We ate at Bocanova one evening and really enjoyed it. During the spring/summer months on the first Friday there is Jack's night market with lots of great food stalls, craft booths, gastrotrucks and entertainment.

Old Oakland is also a short 5 block walk away and there are lots of great looking restaruants there as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are trains that utilize tracks adjacent to Jack London Square so a water view room will help w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location since we did not want to drive a car....Amtrak, Oakland Airport bus, free Broadway shuttle to Bart, ferry to San Francisco, walk to Oakland Chinatown....all convenient to Jack London Square with a good selection of restaurants for a trip that combined work and reunion with family.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room to enjoy a peaceful environment overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Waterfront Hotel in Oakland at Jack London Square for the Strictly Sail Pacific boat show. Service was above usual, with a friendly check in, helpful staff, and a lovely room. The continental breakfast is in a room with a view of the marina, and the food is excellent--fresh fruit, muffins and pastries, etc. I'll definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: If you want a waterfront view room with a balcony, make sure you ask when making your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.