We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the waterfront hotel for our anniversary in March. We really liked the location at Jack London Square because it is very walkable. There are many restaurants and on Sunday the farmers market is right outside the door.


The hotel is situated on the bay estuary, we stayed in an upgraded room that had a good view of the Marina, jack London Square and a peek a view of San Francisco. The port of Oakland is directly next door, so there is a view of it as well! Luckily there was no work going on on Saturday that we good tell. The room had a nice balcony with two chairs where we sat and watched the boats come and go.
The hotel could use some renovating, our room's furniture was way outdated and worn. However the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and in ok shape. We wanted to use the fireplace which was gas, but it wasn't lit. We just called the front desk and they sent someone up to light the pilot right away. That was a nice feature. I really think they should invest in a exterior paint job, the building is extremely chipped and faded.

On Sunday morning we were trying to sleep in but couldn't because there was a concert down in the square. The farmers market opens at 10:00, so we just got up and went down to enjoy the activities. We had brunch at the restaurant in the hotel. Different owners. The brunch is really good. The place is dog friendly in the outdoor space. They even bring your pal water in a nice stainless steel bowl.

Even though the hotel could use a facelift, we enjoyed our stay. The area is really nice for an on foot outing. I liked not having to use our car. We had lunch on Saturday, dinner Saturday night, and brunch Sunday all in one area. Super. And if you wanted to go to San Francisco the ferry was just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the water side, the city side has no view and there is the train that travels through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    166
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
76
152
42
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Most of our wedding party, including the bride and grrom, stayed at the waterfront after having our rehersal dinner at El Pascatore. We never left jack London Square and enjoyed all venues very much. We booked one of the suites but it really wasn't anything special. Overall, we had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff here are super. Loved the coffee in the AM in the lobby and the newspapers. Super room, but walls a bit thin. Rooms finished off nicely, a bit dated. Hallways need a bit of fixing up. LOVE they are pet friendly. Charge for valet parking a bit steep, esp. if you are staying for a week.

Room Tip: Top floor, then you don't get people walking loudly on 'your ceiling'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was attending a conference while staying at the Waterfront Hotel. Check in was easy and the staff was super friendly. They host a wine and cheese by the fireplace around 5ish and it nice to meet some of the other hotel guests. If you are hungry there are a number of restaurants around the hotel within walking distance. If you want to go into San Francisco there is a ferry very nearby to take you across the water. Overall I found the room to be well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have nothing to complain about - my stay at the Waterfront Hotel in Oakland exceeded my expectations. Friendly and very helpful staff, fine accomodations, quiet. I particularly enjoyed the bath/shower, and the bedding was absolutely wonderful. I made a special request for a fridge and received one no problem. Valet parking was very convenient. The hotel is within walking distance from just about anything you could want in a short vacation - we had tickets for a great show at Yoshi's across the street, excellent dinner both down the street and even more convenient, at the hotel itself! Do not miss the restaurant Lungomare!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Waterfront Hotel was selected on the basis that it was part of the joie de Vivre group and therefore similar to the White Swan Inn in San Francisco, but nothing can be further from the truth. This is in no way a boutique hotel. The rooms at the Waterfront Inn are basic, like a travel lodge in England, maintenance is lacking with doors off hinges, loose rails in the bathroom and ironing boards that collapse, resulting in a comedy show, as well as health and safety nightmare.

While in the White Swan breakfast is included, this is not the case at the Waterfront Hotel, nor is coffee and tea, or water available all day. There is no fridge in the room, free soft drinks, free cookies at tea-time or a generous buffet with wine at 5 p.m

However, the view from the rooms overlooking the pool are breathtaking, with the sea, ferry to San Francisco and yachts to watch. The hotel is set within a plaza full of restaurants and pubs, and a Sunday Market. You do need a car as you are far away from Bart.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was a little bit worry when read that the hotel is not really comfortable. However, since my office had booked there, I have no choice, I didn't expect too much, in fact, I'm ready with all the bad experience that I might have. Surprisingly, the hotel is nice: room is very comfortable, I could sleep very well, helpful staff, I can ride a free shuttle bus to downtown and I can easily find various restaurant nearby hotel. It's like all good package at once! I really like the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.