We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is a little dated, but very clean with new wall paper, carpets, and bedding. The room was good sized. The only parking is Valet parking at a cost of $20.00. The continental breakfast was limited in selection. The coffee was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    163
    65
    28
    13
See reviews for
74
149
42
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe, NV
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I believe this is the first 1 star review I have given.

I checked in on Sunday night, January 20. I got in on a late flight and got into my room at 1:30 am. Got to sleep around 2:00 and got woken up at 3:00 with trains. Got back to sleep and then woken up at 7:35 with construction guys working on the hotel on my back porch. Was stunned they were working so early.

I then opened up the curtains in my "Parlor Suite" (which I thought was very small for the best suite they had) and I stunned to be staring at a guy with his dog looking at me naked. Come to find out, these rooms have a connective balcony on the 2nd floor and anyone can walk into the back of anyone else's room. I stay in hotels over 100 nights a year and have never experienced this.

I got moved the 2nd night to a room with a private back yard and supposedly quiet (from the trains)room. Trains were going by all night long. There are no rooms I would imagine in this hotel that are not affected by the train noise.

All that was a bummer, but to me, one of the most significant issues was the complete lack of integrity in pricing. I stay at Joie de Vivre hotels and I received a 20% off coupon in my email. So, I used this to book a room and on the website, there are various options for rooms, and the most expensive room was "Parlor Suite". I have no problem for paying for better rooms and I booked this room. The first night I thought it was incredibly small for a suite but I was too tired to do anything about it. After being moved the 2nd night, there was no way it was a suite....it was a regular room. I went to the front desk and after about 10 minutes, I was finally told that my room was not a suite but a regular view room. He said that their computer only shows one rate and does not work with costs on the website. He said that yes, he saw that I had booked the parlor suite but gave me another room (at least one downgrade down and maybe 2 downgrades down) but did not reduce the cost. I asked how they could possibly even begin to charge more for a room and not provide the room......complete bait and switch and he said that yes, I was 100% right, he did not mean to deceive me, but the computer did not support some things with the website and it was too difficult to do. So, he credited me $20 for the one night which was not nearly the amount that it cost me to upgrade. He said he would have a manager call me in the morning and they did not.

After one other bad experience last year at a Joie de Vivre hotel, which I used to love, I can pretty much state that I will not be staying at them again.

Too bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great location, a bit on the old side but lots of charm on the Bay side. My first room was not on the water and was really depressing. Moving to the water side made all the difference. The Jack London area is very nice. But do not go across the tracks. A friend was mugged and it is sketch city there. maybe during the day but not at night. Scotts is a great restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water and a balcony. Only cost 10$ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here one night after arriving by Amtrak from Los Angeles. Walking distance from train station. Room was comfortable and staff was friendly. We couldn't get the TV to work, and the heater didn't work work, and it was too late (after midnight) to get assistance. Nice location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel for a weekend getaway. The hotel was having a sale so we opted to go with a suite...I wasn't disappointed, but the room didn't meet my expectations either. Their website made it seem like the room would be a lot more luxurious than it was. The furniture was a little dated but still nice. Without getting too lengthy, it was like a standard room with a little more space. I was expecting more since we paid for a suite - I know for next time to just opt for a standard room We had a nice view of the harbor and the square though and the staff was amazing. Everyone was super nice and very friendly. The only compliant I have is that there was a ton of noise from the room above us.I'm not sure if it was a guest room or a conference room, but it sounded like there were elephants running around in the early hours of the morning. That made it a little difficult to sleep in. And as far as parking, it does cost $20, but you can leave your vehicle there for 24 hours. So if you want to take the ferry to San Francisco you can leave your car there and not have to worry about finding another safe place to park. Considering the cost of parking in San Fran, I didn't mind. I would definitely reccomend this hotel and I plan to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to a suite, the standard rooms are just as nice. And ask for a high floor room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Waterfront Hotel is located in Jack London Square near downtown. Easily accessible from I-880, The Waterfront offers a tranquil respite for business travelers or a romantic getaway. We enjoy Joie de Vevre hotels and The Waterfront is no exception. Small, cozy and classy best describe this gem with wonderful views of the Marina and Oakland waterway. We recommend a corner king suite with a balcony. In the afternoons, enjoy the sunset on the balcony with complimentary wine and cheese. We were searching for an upscale hotel without the size and hustle of the major chains. The Waterfront was the perfect discovery. It is our only choice for overnight stay in Oakland.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 251. Request a king corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet neiborhood in Oakland in the jack London Square. Try to get a 3rd floor room with an ocean view and you will have a great view of the harbor. The ferry to San Francisco is right outside and you can save the parking fees in san Francisco. a down side to this hotel is that you have to pay a mandatory 20.00/night valet parking fee. The rooms are nicely done but the mattresses need replacing and the heater/ac unit is very loud. There is a resturant on site and a several restaurants within a block.

Room Tip: ask for a room withan ocean view on the 3rd floor. Pay minimal fee to upgrade if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.