We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine on the Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Mahnattan48
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed one night after making the winning bid on a charity auction. The hotel is quiet, clean and pleasant. The rooms are a bit small, but the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distangl, Manager at Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Manhattan48,

I wanted to take a minute and thank you very much for written about us on Tripadvisor. We genuinely value the feedback our guests provide – both when we get it right and when we fail to do so – as it is extremely helpful for us to discover areas in which we need to improve our service and operations. It is only by hearing feedback from our guests that I can work to improve service at our property.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Waterfront Hotel. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that we have exceeded your expectations during your visit with us.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Di Stangl
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    142
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
64
132
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

A nice place, on the harbour, with great view. Plenty of restaurants nearby, some of them very good. But you have to be lucky or to insist when checking in to have a room on the harbour. If not, you will hear trains all night.
Not far from the subway and you can also use a ferry to go to San Francisco.

Room Tip: take a room on the harbourg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The noise (both exterior and from adjacent rooms) is significant. If you aren't crazy about staying in a pet motel, make another choice. Many rooms around us had one or more dogs. The barking kept some people we were staying with awake all night. The second night we were there, there was a late-night party in the room above us. The third night, it sounded like the new occupants were bowling. We could also hear every word of the conversations through the adjoining door the last day we were there. So thin walls and ceilings. I left out the very loud and frequent train whistle if you have a room facing away from the waterfront, but that wasn't really a problem.

It is very convenient to the ferry to San Francisco and there are lots of good restaurants right there. I wouldn't stay there again without a room facing the water on the highest floor and an assurance its previous occupants were all human.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Lovely hotel with large, clean rooms with nice amenities. I enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the attached restaurant (Miss Pearls Jam House), which also provides room service. The one thing you should be aware of is the fact that there is a major Amtrak rail line just one block from the hotel and high-speed trains roll through on a regular basis, loudly blowing their whistles. Thankfully there must be an exception at night as they seemed to stop blowing them then, but don't plan to sleep in any later than about 7am when they start back up. Also, they only have valet parking. If you are on a budget, there is a public parking garage a very short walk away that might be less expensive. All that considered, I would definitely stay there again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had tickets for a concert at Yoshi's, and wanted a hotel within walking distance. After reviewing TA, we chose this one; good reviews and close proximity (actually down the street.) We were greeted by a friendly staff member, Penny, who kindly upgraded our room. The room was clean and comfortable, with a balcony view of the harbor. We swam in the pool, and after the concert, had a drink at Miss Pearls and listened to a live, local band. After a good nights sleep, we regretted leaving, and will come back for another concert.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We went to my nephew's graduation from Berkeley. he lives in Oakland, and it was a perfect spot for our convenience. We stayed for four days, and found the staff extremely helpful and very nice. They printed out directions for us when we were travelling, and although pricey ($20 per day), the valet service is wonderful. The rooms were large and accomodating, and there is the train noise. Ask for a room will minimal noise exposure. You will stil hear it, but I am sure it is much better than the room we would have received. Ms. Pearl's Jam House is EXCELLENT! The prices are not cheap, but the food was well worth it. We also ate at Scotty's Seafood next door to the hotel in Jack London Square, and their seafood was delicious, and they had a wonderful nice wine selection. The only downfall was with the room servicing. I asked for creamer packets for the in room coffee maker, and the housekeeping person told me to go downstairs to the restaurant to get some. Also, I am not sure when, or howm but I was missing a couple bottles of wine from my trip to Napa, which were in the trunk. I purchased 7 bottles, drank one, and came home with only 4. Not a big deal, I'm just sayin...

Room Tip: Ask for a room without much train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel is quite nice and the room was large, well appointed and clean. The hotel is located on the Oakland waterfront, in what appears to be an urban redevelopment project that has not yet really gelled. There were a number of vacant storefronts and also a number of lively shops and restaurants. I did not pick up my rental car until the second day I stayed and felt marooned without a car. Downtown Oakland is just a few blocks away and while I felt reasonably safe walking about, it is a gritty, urban experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
#8 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.