We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical quality Hilton... Needs updating!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Oakland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Oakland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, Go!
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Lenexa, KS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not your typical quality Hilton... Needs updating!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Being a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, I travel to many, many of the Hilton hotels. This one is still a little behind the times.

+ The Hilton hotel beds are always very comfortable, and this hotel included.
+ Close to the airport
+ Breakfast food was good

- The wifi internet was slow, the desk chair wouldn't raise up to the desk height, so it wasn't very conducive for working.
- The LG TVs take a while to change channels, esp. if you are a channel flipper, and want to view them all first.
- Room quality was fair, and a little outdated, including the lighting.
- Cleanliness was ok.
- No microwave.
- The water gets very hot... so just be careful.
- Not much to the common areas (like other Hilton hotels)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    115
    120
    74
    36
See reviews for
69
70
33
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice property, good room, excellent hotel staff. they went out of their way to accommodate us and make our stay an enjoyable one! Drivers will show you all you need to know about the town including where to go, what to do, and how to do it! Great Staff! Good amenities, lots of shade and room. Breakfast buffet is great and bar is well priced with lots of tv screens! overall, great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Checked out of another chain early, after a very noisy night. Was able to check in at about 10:30 AM and got a room upgrade too! Bought some wine in SF, and was able to borrow a small refrigerator (no charge) to keep it cool. Was tired after the wine trail, so we ordered room service. Food was good, and portions were large. One meal feeds two easily. Very close to airport and rental car return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

When you hear the name Hilton, you expect rich and quality. But this Hilton is lacking that.
The room is your regular kingsize bed. Picture will be posted.
The bathroom is very small no more 1.5 person at a time. And there's no Fan/Vent in side of them so everytime you use the restaurant , the sound waves travel.. So we just leave the sink water
Some widows don't have childlock on the windows.
No fans/vents in the bathroom.
No refrigerators in the room
Room service Is slow
Need to pay for Parking

Patricia at front desk is very sweet and lovely and really helps w anything she can.
My personal and favorite part of the stay is breakfast they have.

. It's amazing.
Fruit bar
Omelette bar
Waffle bar
French/pancake/hasbrowms
Bacon
Assorted Breads, Yogurts,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped over here for the Ballgame.

They have a shuttle for OAKland International Airport and one for the BART station at the Coliseum. I came from SFO and you must phone them one station before at least or you'll have to wait a little.

Room was large, nice, but a little faded, like many Hiltons. I had booked via the Internet and they were aware I was coming, and the check-in was nice. Internet access is free in the lobby, and I had a MiFI so it didn't bother me at all.

They have the shuttle to the game quite organized, they drop you and pick you up at the flag pole, right at the entrance to home plate.

If I have another layover when the A's play at home I'll definitively stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

just an average hotel. Room service is good and the food is pretty good. The hotels are all split up in different buildings and the beds are just decent. The staff is nice and there is abundant parking (must pay for it). Convenient though very close to the airport and bunch of restaurants nearby.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had no choice but to stay at a hotel near the Oakland, CA airport due to work/travel circumstances. I've always thought of Hilton's as being above average--not this one.

The first room they put me in smelled really bad and the AC was not working. I walked in and thought, "it's going to take 3 martinis to get through this night."

Fortunately, they moved me in a room with functioning AC. (From building 2 to building 1, don't worry, they are numbered in case you get lost.)

Starving, I headed for the restaurant lounge at around 9:30PM. It, too, smelled odd. Like old rancid movie-popcorn oil. You get used to it.

The menu, a two-sided 8.5 x 11 laminated sheet, had items like "half-chicken with brown demi-glaze." What is a brown demi-glaze? I played it safe and ordered the chicken finger basket--once delivered (under the glow of blue neon) looked like two gray fried smoker's lungs. I did not try the ranch dressing.

I have to say, the Hendricks martinis were fairly decent.

The decor of the lounge is "Raider's Nation" and one has to wonder why they are still displaying the sad 2012 3-win season schedule on the wall.

I'm pretty sure the finale of National Lampoon's Vacation was filmed here. (The original.) The decor of my rooms was straight out of 1986. Old bad carpet. Old bad bathroom. Bad linens. Just really gross. Really hard to believe this is a Hilton.

Honestly, unless you absolutely have to stay here I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to be in building one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Oakland Airport

Address: 1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Oakland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.